Queen Alexandra Hospital department handed Houses of Parliament award

AWARD Meon Valley MP George Hollingbery with the QA team
AWARD Meon Valley MP George Hollingbery with the QA team
Hospital staff at Queen Alexandra Hospital in Cosham, were helping patients on the Dementia ward decorate their walking frames.

Pictured is: (back l-r) Sarah Smith, Chloe Russell, Kerry Budd, Poppy Young, Sarah Pomfret and Evelyn Donoghue with patients (front l-r) Joan Tuck, Doris Bealing, Ronald Rowntree, Doris Long OBE and Joan Horne. 

Picture: Sarah Standing (170879-4934)

QA Hospital patients ‘pimp zimmer frames’ in new project

Have your say

HARD-working doctors and nurses have received a prestigious award at the Houses of Parliament.

Staff from the rheumatology department at Queen Alexandra Hospital picked up an award for their outstanding standard of care.

They were only one of 10 departments to win a National Rheumatoid Arthritis Society Healthcare Champions Award.

The accolade came after they were nominated by Muriel Boyes, from Winifred Close, Waterlooville. Mrs Boyes has been a patient of the department for 19 years.

In her nomination she explained that during the cold, snowy period in January, she called the department to seek help for a flare-up in her condition.

She had a prompt call back advising her to increase her medication – but she was also asked whether she had sufficient food supplies, given her condition and inability to get out.

Staff even offered to go out and get food for her if necessary.

Mrs Boyes said that over the course of 19 years, the standard of care had never fallen, despite a change in the head consultant within that period.