Decision over handball shows there’s a lack of consistency

Mo Farrah after missing out on a gold medal
				 Picture: Adam Davy

VERITY LUSH: Leave me to browse the make-up counter in peace

0
Have your say

We’ve sorted goal-line technology, now to sort out handball.

In Monday’s 0-0 draw between Man Utd and Chelsea, the ball clearly struck Frank Lampard’s hand. No penalty.

Later the ball struck Oscar on the arm in midfield. Free kick. Where’s the consistency?

With rules constantly being updated and changed, I think it’s time to bring back one lost in the 1980s – the indirect free kick in the penalty box.

Lampard accidentally handled, but Utd should have had an indirect free kick.

Offside should be offside, whether interfering with play or not, and any handball should constitute an offence with a scale of reward for the opponent.