UPDATE: Southern Rail workers announce further 14 days of strike action

Southern Railway

Southern Railway

5
Have your say

Southern Rail workers have announced further strikes over the next few months over a safety dispute.

Rail Union RMT has confirmed 14 days of action in the wake of the company’s insistence of removing safety-trained guards from trains.

The strikes will take place between:

00.01 on Tuesday 11th October and 23.59 on Thursday 13th October

00.01 on Tuesday 18th October and 23.59 on Thursday 20th October

00.01 on Thursday 3rd November and 23.59 on Saturday 5th November

00.01 on Tuesday 22nd November and 23.59 on Wednesday 23rd November

00.01 on Tuesday 6th December and 23.59 on Thursday 8th December.

RMT general secretary Mick Cash said: ‘Yet again our members are being forced to take industrial action in a bid to maintain a safe and secure service on Southern.

‘Govia Thameslink and the Government have made it clear that they have no interest in resolving this dispute.

‘Instead they have begun the process of bulldozing through the drive towards wholesale Driver Only Operation (DOO) without agreement and without any concern for the impact on safety, security and disability access.’

In response Angie Doll, passenger services director for Govia Thameslink - the company that owns Southern Rail- said: ‘The RMT’s desire to heap yet further travel misery on the public and affect the everyday lives of so many people is shameful.

‘A comprehensive and fair offer has been on the table for weeks and the union leadership’s claims about jobs, pay, safety are trumped-up make believe.

‘This scaremongering by the RMT union is a contrived attempt to gain public support when it knows its spurious arguments about jobs, pay, accessibility and safety have been demolished by independent experts and analysis and are falling on deaf ears.’

Back to the top of the page