Hampshire face pitch punishment

Tony Pigott and Nigel Gray discuss the Rose Bowl wicket. Hampshire v Nottinghamshire. County Championship division one. July 22, 2011. Picture: Neil Marshall

Tony Pigott and Nigel Gray discuss the Rose Bowl wicket. Hampshire v Nottinghamshire. County Championship division one. July 22, 2011. Picture: Neil Marshall

James Vince will no longer captain Hampshire for County Championship matches.  Picture: Sarah Standing

Hampshire announce joint captaincy for 2017 season

0
Have your say

FEARS that Hampshire could lose some – or even all – of any points gained from a County Championship win over Nottinghamshire grew yesterday.

ECB pitch liaison officer Tony Pigott was once again at the Rose Bowl to inspect the controversial wicket on day three after a similar visit the previous day.

The wicket has already hosted a low-scoring CB40 game against Durham earlier this week, while a flood of wickets – predominantly to the spin-bowlers – during the ongoing Championship clash have brought it under further scrutiny.

With Pigott able to impose an eight or 24-point penalty depending on his findings, Hampshire could potentially see a first four-day triumph of the season ruined by a points deduction.

Hampshire’s fate will be decided at an ECB hearing at close of play today, when both side’s captains and coaches, the umpires, and the Rose Bowl’s head groundsman Nigel Gray will be interviewed.

Back to the top of the page