Marmion win is hard to swallow for Oyster

Jolly Taxpayer B's Mason Riou
Jolly Taxpayer B's Mason Riou
From left: Pairs winners Lee Smith and Les Rance, with runners-up Darren Barnes and Darrell Manchip

Portsmouth individuals final is a Barnes-stormer

Have your say

Marmion have opened up a two-point lead at the head of division E.

They held their nerve in the top-of-the-table clash with Oyster House to win 6-3 and leapfrog their rivals into first place.

Wins from Scott Schillemore and David James put Oyster 2-1 up, after Jason Appleton opened proceedings for Marmion.

And despite Marmion’s Brian Croucher levelling the match, Oyster went ahead once more through Chris Cobb snr.

However, it was one-way traffic from there on in as Tim Brosnan, Dan Rickards, Frank Beesley and Nick Falloon won all four remaining games for Marmion.

Jolly Taxpayer B sit two points behind division A’s leaders following a hard-fought 5-4 triumph over Mr Pickwick.

Pickwick started well, with Paul Easterbrook registering an 18-dart leg and 180 to take the first set.

But Andy Newcombe hit straight back for Taxpayer.

Mason Riou and Phil Rudder moved Pickwick 3-1 up, and it took a maximum from Kevin Mills to pull Taxpayer back to 3-2.

Pickwick hit back with a 180 of their own from Neil Hewson as he moved his side within a set of victory.

But Andy Walker, Steve Ockendon and Neil Banks reeled off three on the trot to give Taxpayer the match.

Vic Smith threw an 18-darter and 180 against Ockendon.

Battle of Minden B gained their first win of the season in division B, beating Artillery Arms A 6-3.

Minden took control from the start as Michael Cotillard and Sam Coughlan gave them the first two legs.

Ian Usher, Jim Adams and Darrell Manchip all pulled legs back for Artillery.

But each time Minden immediately restored their two-leg advantage, with Neil Hallett, Ron Byng and Richard Hind keeping them comfortably in front and the latter securing the points before Barry Porter added Minden’s sixth.

Baffins stay in division C’s promotion places thanks to a 5-4 victory over Shepherds Crook.

Gareth Potter and Dave Lock put Crook 2-1 up after Vic Wain had opened proceedings for Baffins.

Brian Breadner and Ken Journeaux regained the lead for Baffins, but Crook moved within a leg of the match as Liam Melia and Cameron Clark were on the mark.

Ian Bates scored 180 for Baffins as he kept his side in the match and team-mate Fred Fuggle took the decider.

George & Dragon A pulled away from division D’s promotion places as they dispatched Froddington Arms A 5-4.

Frank Woodward gave George the initial lead but wins from Paul Miller and Ron Waters, and a walkover for Matt Toms, soon had Froddington in the driving seat.

Malcolm Tilley and Mark Pearce restored parity for George, however, Paul Lipscombe then moved Froddington ahead.

But that was all Froddington could muster as Les Browne and Shane Plummer won the two remaining legs to take the match for George.

Rob Newland (Admiral Drake B) recorded an impressive 12-dart leg, while team-mate Sam Head had 16 and 17-darters and a 180.

Colin McKean (Old House at Home B), Pat Paterson (Nell Gwynne) and Lee O’Donovan (Froddington Arms B) all finished legs in 17 darts.

Lester Miles (Graham Arms B), Jon Bramble, Barry Stevens (both Admiral Drake B) and Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A) all had 18-darters, with Stevens and Miles finishing on 144 and 128 respectively.

Neil Sheppard (Rose in June B) checked-out on 122, Keith John (Graham Arms B) hit a 111 finish, Clive Pearce (Admiral Drake B) notched a 110 game-shot and Joe Bridle (Stag A) finished with 104.

Steve Cole (Electric Arms), Adam Lipscombe (Newcome Arms A), Mark Brooks jnr (Old House at Home A) and Stuart Benfield (Mermaid) all fired in maximums.