Pickwick guarantee division A spot

Neil Hewson
Neil Hewson
From left: Pairs winners Lee Smith and Les Rance, with runners-up Darren Barnes and Darrell Manchip

Portsmouth individuals final is a Barnes-stormer

Have your say

Mr Pickwick guaranteed their place in division A of the Portsmouth Men’s Summer League next season with a 7-2 triumph over Jolly Taxpayer C.

Vic Smith got Pickwick started with a 17-darter.

But Taxpayer hit straight back through Andy Newcombe.

Pickwick moved ahead again thanks to Phil Rudder before Kevin Mills restored parity for Taxpayer.

However, that was all Taxpayer could muster as Pickwick took all the remaining sets courtesy of Paul Easterbrook, Malcolm Ogden, Neil Hewson, Dave Kattenhorn and Allen Lloyd.

Hewson recorded an 18-darter and a 113 finish.

Stag C are still in the mix for relegation from division B following a 5-4 defeat to Mermaid.

Alan K Graf gave Stag the initial lead but it didn’t last long as John Holts, Matthew Bolton and Richard Platt moved Mermaid 3-1 up.

Luke Graf reduced Stag’s deficit to one leg but the match was soon over as a contest when Kelvin Fletcher and Ryan Knight won the next two legs for Mermaid.

Stag made the score more respectable as Alan D Graf and Nathan Elverson won the remaining ties.

Jolly Taxpayer A guaranteed themselves second place in division C as they beat Pembroke 5-4.

Taxpayer took a 3-1 lead with wins from Eamonn Leightley, Peter Hunt and Steve Houghton, while only Steve Breet could muster any response for Pembroke.

Adam Wilson and Martin Downs pulled Pembroke level at 3-3 but Kevin Houghton and Mark Harris snr struck for Taxpayer to bag the points.

John Bailey took a late consolation for Pembroke.

George & Dragon A kept alive their faint hopes of promotion from division D with a 6-3 victory over Froddington Arms A.

Les Browne and Dean Underdown put George in the driving seat before Barry Stevenson got Froddington off the mark.

George wasted no further time in winning the match as Shane Plummer, Mark Pearce and Les Weston gave them an insurmountable lead.

Derek Toms and Paul Lipscombe took consolations for Froddington before Anthony Plummer added George’s sixth.

George & Dragon B paid the price for being short of players as they went down 5-4 to Trafalgar Arms in division E.

Joseph Abbotts struck first for Trafalgar but Tommy Rees instantly levelled for George.

Stuart Abbotts and Des Frith moved Trafalgar 3-1 up.

Tony Smith struck for George but Daniel Farmer boosted Trafalgar.

And despite Mick Stapleton and Jay Palmer winning legs for George, Trafalgar won with a walkover for Jim Foster.

David Clarke (Jolly Taxpayer B), Chris Jafkins (Froddington Arms B), Jon Bramble, Barry Stevens, James Brooker (all Admiral Drake B) and Del Thomson (Newcome Arms A) all threw 18-dart legs with Stevens also checking out on 101.

David Hatherly snr (Artillery Arms B) fired in a maximum.