Stag boost survival hopes

Ricky Williams
Ricky Williams
From left: Pairs winners Lee Smith and Les Rance, with runners-up Darren Barnes and Darrell Manchip

Portsmouth individuals final is a Barnes-stormer

Have your say

Stag A moved four points clear of the top-flight relegation zone with a 5-4 triumph over fellow-strugglers Froddington Arms B.

Fast-starting Froddington took a 3-1 lead as Paul Rowe, Lee O’Donovan and Shaun O’Donovan all won sets without dropping a leg.

Only Brian Hammond was able to muster an early resistance for Stag.

Roy Sands fired in a 13-dart leg and maximum as he pulled Stag back to 3-2, before team-mate Mark Smith restored parity.

Daniel Jafkins moved Froddington within a set of victory.

But Jon Bridle and Mick Neilson took the last two clashes to complete Stag’s comeback.

The division B table is so tight that a 7-2 win over Graham Arms B moved Harvest Home out of the relegation zone and level on points with the promotion places.

Phil Mercer opened proceedings for Harvest but Graham’s Robert Jamieson immediately restored parity.

Harvest stormed back with six legs on the trot through John Faithfull, Graeme Cooper, Adrian Matthews, Robert Blake, John Hansford and Cliff Hart.

Graham were awarded the last leg as a walkover for Lester Miles.

Jolly Taxpayer B are still undefeated at the top of division C after a 5-4 derby victory over Jolly Taxpayer A.

The B team struck through Ray Priseman and David Andrews before Steve Houghton and Sam Willis pulled Taxpayer A level.

Taxpayer B moved within a leg of victory as David Clarke and Ted Andrews were on the mark, either side of the A team’s Trevor Davis to make it 4-3.

Mark Harris kept Taxpayer A in the match but David Gough took the decider for the B side.

Admiral Drake A are still searching for their first win of the season in division D.

They fell to a 6-3 defeat at the hands of Rose in June A.

Rose stormed into a 4-0 lead courtesy of Ian Saynor, James Dugan, Jim Dugan and Paul Saynor.

Anthony Griffin got Drake off the mark but Rose clinched victory as Julian Davis and Dave Lennox won the next two legs.

Drake’s Garry Drain and Carl Spratt took the remaining ties as consolations.

Duke of Devonshire B moved within two points of the division E promotion places thanks to a 5-4 win over Marmion Tavern.

Duke went 3-1 up as Edward Jordan, Brendan Woodward and Paul Hungerford all chalked up wins after Marmion’s Nigel Martin claimed the opener.

But Marmion refused to roll over as they regained the lead.

Paul Eldred, Jay Kelly and Martin Johnson scored wins.

But it was Steve O’Neill and Lee Hungerford who triumphed to bag the points for Duke.

Steve Musson (Admiral Drake B) fired in 13 and 18-dart legs, while Mason Riou (Brewers Arms) recorded 15 and 18-dart efforts, including a 156 finish.

Gary Collis, Jon Bramble (both Admiral Drake B) and Jason Crawley (Phoenix Lounge) threw 17-dart legs. Bob Crawley (Phoenix Lounge) had a pair of 18-darters.

Jamie Stewart, Ricky Williams (both Phoenix Lounge), Tim Hope (Newcome Arms A), Kevin Gilchrist (Graham Arms A) and Danny Smith (Mermaid) also had 18-dart legs, with Smith and Hope scoring maximums.

Steve Woodage (Artillery Arms) checked-out on 112, while Ken Dean (Shearer Arms B) and Paul Wain (Newcome Arms A) hit 101 and 100 game-shots respectively.

Michael Chandler (Eldon Arms) and Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A) both scored 180s.