Stag hunt down Taxpayer

Danny Smith was on form this week. Picture: Ian Hargreaves (14868-4)
Danny Smith was on form this week. Picture: Ian Hargreaves (14868-4)
From left: Pairs winners Lee Smith and Les Rance, with runners-up Darren Barnes and Darrell Manchip

Portsmouth individuals final is a Barnes-stormer

Have your say

Stag A enjoyed a convincing win over Jolly Taxpayer B in division B of the Portsmouth Men’s Summer League.

Roy Sands and Mark Smith notched legs for Stag before Rob Andrews got Taxpayer off the mark.

Paul Hooker restored the two-leg advantage only for Dave Andrews to instantly move Taxpayer back within a leg.

However, that was all Taxpayer could muster as Paul Emeney, Mick Neilson, Andrew Smith and Stephen Wain took the remaining ties.

Duke of Devonshire defeated Graham Arms A 5-4 in division C.

Allan Unwin opened proceedings for Duke and John Elverson doubled their advantage with a 112 game-shot.

Jamie Davis and Martin Simmons pulled Graham back to 3-2 with legs either side of a win from Robbie Blake.

But Len Eastland and James Fyfield then sealed victory for Duke, leaving Daniel Hall and Andrew Duffin to make the scoreline more respectable for Graham.

In division D, Oyster House emerged as 5-4 victors over Tap B.

Jon MacDonald won the first clash but Spencer King immediately levelled for Tap.

A walkover for Chris Cobb snr put Oyster back in front but Steve Udy and Paul Grant then gave their rivals the lead for the first time.

Dave Harrison made it 3-3 and – despite Des Gregg taking the next leg for Tap – a walkover for Alex Hood and win from Scott Tucker gave Oyster victory.

Rose in June A led throughout their division E match against Raven.

Ian McClaren and Jim Dugan took the first two legs, although James Baseden hit back to halve the deficit.

Paul Saynor and Chris Pratt kept Rose two legs in front but each time Raven pegged them back with Jerry Goddard and Allen Gaymer on target.

Mark Ford and Ian Saynor took the last two ties to bag the points for Rose with a 6-3 triumph.

Tap A sealed a 5-4 win at Phoenix Southsea in division F.

Ian Smith and Chris Hilton gave Tap early leads but Phoenix levelled both times through John Lloyd and Dave Tait respectively.

Pete Hickman put Phoenix 3-2 up but three wins on the trot – from Mark North, Graham Clow and Brian Hughes – netted the match for Tap.

Mick Mulvey took a late consolation for Phoenix.

Jolly Taxpayer C wasted no time in securing victory against Artillery Arms A in division A.

Derek Banks, Steve Ockendon, Kevin Mills, Steve Humby, Rob White and Jim Mortimer gave Taxpayer an insurmountable lead – with White scoring a 180 along the way.

An 18-darter and 116 game-shot from Darrell Manchip was all Arms could muster as Andy Newcombe’s 11-dart leg and 180 got Taxpayer back on track and Neil Banks completed an 8-1 demolition.

n In this week’s action, Danny Smith (Admiral Drake B) threw 15 and 18-dart legs and Chris Jafkins (Mr Pickwick B) registered a pair of 16-darters.

Paul Easterbrook (Mr Pickwick A), Sam Head (Admiral Drake B) and Darren Barnes (Newcome Arms A) all finished legs in 17. Bruce Baker (Shearer Arms) had two 18-darters and Dave Stewart (Clarence Gardens) and Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A) also had 18-dart efforts with Stewart scoring a 180.

Dean Underdown (Druids Arms B) checked out on 120 and Dion Jukes (Stag B) had a 100 game-shot.

Vince Aston (Phoenix North End B), Brian Croucher (Old House at Home B), Richard Baker (Froddington Arms), Barry Stevens and Adam Lipscombe (both Admiral Drake B) all fired in maximums.

n Division A’s Old House at Home B are looking for new players for the winter season. Anyone interested should contact Colin McKean (023) 9269 1879 or 07530 093429.