Numbers up for Pompey

Ryan Taylor will wear the number nine shirt. Picture: Joe Pepler
Ryan Taylor will wear the number nine shirt. Picture: Joe Pepler
Drew Talbot hopes to be involved in tonights Carabao Cup game against Cardiff  Picture: Joe Pepler

Talbot’s message to Pompey boss

Have your say

Ryan Taylor has been handed the coveted number nine shirt after Pompey released their squad numbers for the new campaign.

The Blues striker replaces David Connolly, who has been given the 35 shirt, despite rumours he would not be handed a number for the coming term.

Paul Jones will wear the number one shirt with fellow goalkeeper, Michael Poke, taking the number 22.

Jed Wallace switches from last season’s 35 to the number eight, while Adam Webster (two), Jack Whatmough (three) and Ben Chorley (six) have also been awarded shirts in the first 11.

New recruits Miles Storey (14), Alex Wynter (15), Craig Westcarr (20), James Dunne (21) and Nigel Atangana (25) have also been allocated.

POMPEY SQUAD: 1 Paul Jones, 2 Adam Webster,

3 Jack Whatmough, 4 Danny East, 5 Joe Devera,

6 Ben Chorley, 7 Andy Barcham, 8 Jed Wallace,

9 Ryan Taylor, 10 Tom Craddock, 11 Ricky Holmes,

12 Pompey Fans, 13 Johnny Ertl, 14 Miles Storey,

15 Alex Wynter, 17 Nicky Shorey, 18 Ryan Bird, 
19 Wes Fogden, 20 Craig Westcarr, 21 James Dunne, 22 Michael Poke, 23 Patrick Agyemang,

24 Nick Awford, 25 Nigel Atangana,

26 Bradley Tarbuck, 29 Danny Hollands,

30 Jack Maloney, 33 Ben Close, 34 Dan Butler,

35 David Connolly