Talmondt breaks Post Office resistance as Craneswater shine

Mick Jurd
Mick Jurd
Have your say

Mike Talmondt was in sparkling form as Craneswater A pipped Post Office 7-5 at Highland Road.

Breaks of 78 and 58 proved Talmondt’s quality as he left Tom Sproates sitting in his seat.

Andy Boulton won both for the home side but Matt Paffett bagged his usual brace to keep the contest close.

Leaders Gosport 147 made it a perfect 10 as they beat Portchester X 9-3.

Darren O’Hara stopped the rot but the reigning champions cruised to their 10th win in a row.

Paul Foster, Chris Robinson and Pete Oughton were all untroubled, before team-mate Mick Jurd ran in breaks of 56 and 40.

The former Fareham outfit were docked three points for failing to play an outstanding match with Post Office and the result was ruled to be 0-0.

Mark Tillison registered a 40 as Cowplain Z held on for a 6-6 draw at Copnor A. Scott Compton and Ant Lacey were on target for the home side before Steve Hughes hit back.

Cowplain A took a share of the lead in division two following an 8-4 win over title-rivals Havant.

Tony May picked up a double for the away side but Ricard Linkhorn, Dave Rees and Steve McKnight turned things around.

Emsworth recorded a 7-5 win over Copnor D.

Phil Andrews made a 41 and Tommy O’Neil a 37 in draws.

Dave Glover was also in excellent form as he rattled in breaks of 59 and 33 to beat opposing skipper Chris Hardyman.

However, Shaun Toms and Hugh Pollard stepped up to seal Emsworth’s victory.

Leigh Park kept their hopes alive with a 7-5 win at home to Waverley.

Richie Burnett recorded a double against Jamie McSherry.

Craneswater Z appear to be cruising to glory in division three.

Copnor E played second fiddle throughout as Nigel Ward, Jason Taylor, Aaron Brett and Ian Carter won with ease to seal a 10-2 success for the rampant leaders.

Only Pete Rook and Norman Bradfield resisted as they held out against Simon Petrie and Mark Jones respectively.

Mike Dorey shone for North End with visits of 39 and 30, but Leigh Park still managed a 7-5 win thanks to Colin Ricketts and Bill Parsons.

Carlton made the most of home advantage at Drayton to beat Broadoak 7-5.

Steve Scott and Simon Fleming scored for the stationsiders, before Roger Mo, Derek Dean and Gary Marshall secured the win for Alan Munday’s men.

Craneswater R hit the jackpot as they recorded a 7-5 win at Alexandra Bowls.

Karl Davies put the Bowlers in front but Gary More and Harry Yard had other ideas.

Copnor Cuestars won 7-5 at Cowplain B to keep on top in the race for the division four crown.

Only Will Garrett and Gary Curtis were able to put the breaks on the leaders.

Luke Dixon, Chloe White and Dan Compton all recorded doubles for the Cuestars.

Topspot celebrated an 8-4 success against Cowplain C as Terry Hickley and Steve Wilson achieved doubles.

Copnor F and Pompey Royals shared the spoils in a 6-6 draw.

George Garrett rubbed out an away score by Dave Chivers.