What’s coming up at New Theatre Royal, Portsmouth

The Mousetrap comes to New Theatre Royal

The Mousetrap comes to New Theatre Royal

City theatre to hold open auditions for its big Christmas production

0
Have your say

A visit from the longest-running show in the world and some of the UK’s top comedians are just part of New Theatre Royal’s spring season.

The Mousetrap will be coming to the Portsmouth venue on March 14 for one night only as part of its 60th anniversary tour.

Al Murray is just one of the high-profile comedians appearing at New Theatre Royal

Al Murray is just one of the high-profile comedians appearing at New Theatre Royal

The murder mystery, written by Agatha Christie, has been performed over 26,000 times on the West End.

Other plays include Egg And Spoon (Sunday, February 14), an interactive romp through the seasons by children’s theatre company Lyngo, and The Legend of King Arthur (Thursday, February 18).

Acclaimed company Les Enfants Terribles bring their Marvellous Imaginary Menagerie to the venue on Saturday, February 27, with puppets, dance, vaudeville and circus skills, and Greek comedy Lysistrata gets an absurdist twist on Monday, March 7.

The tale of a doomed town is told in humourous style in Max And Ivan: The End (Saturday, April 30) and the Lady Boys Of Bangkok come to town on Thursday, May 5.

The new season also has plenty of comedy on offer.

Ed Byrne is at New Theatre Royal on Saturday, January 23, and Edinburgh Fringe Festival favourite Romesh Ranganathan finds humour in issues close to his heart on Friday, February 26.

As well as laughs, there’ll be singing and dancing as Brian Conley comes to the New Theatre Royal on Friday, March 25, and Rich Hall brings his latest show 3:10 To Humour to the venue in typical grouchy style on Saturday, May 7.

And comic poet Pam Ayres returns to Portsmouth to recite poetry from her latest book, You Made Me Late Again!, on Wednesday, June 29.

To book call (023) 9264 9000 or visit newtheatreroyal.com.

Back to the top of the page