Mary Rose Museum scoops people’s design prize

Winners at the Solent Design Awards last night. Picture:
Winners at the Solent Design Awards last night. Picture:

Portsmouth Vegan Festival is back: 5 things you need to know

Have your say

THE Mary Rose Museum in Portsmouth has picked up another award voted for by the public.

The museum, which opened last year, won the People’s Choice Award at the Solent Design Awards last night.

The annual event was held at the museum.

The organisers say this year’s ‘clear winner’ was described by the judges as ‘an understated, simple, elegant structure with artefacts imaginatively displayed, recreating the concept of the secret jewel inside the box’.

Paul Grover from the University of Portsmouth, who helped organise the awards on behalf of the Partnership for Urban South Hampshire (Push), said: ‘Our view is that the public’s choice is as important as that of the professionals, as they are the people who really matter and the community must be paramount in each and every design.’

The awards were sponsored, housing and construction company Bouygues UK, and the Urban Design Group.

Bouygues UK technical director Colin Tedder said: ‘As any architect, constructor or house-builder will tell you, our job is about building communities, not just houses, offices or physical buildings.

‘It’s about delivering something which has a visible, positive and lasting impact on the local community.

‘We’re proud once again to be supporting the Solent Design Awards, which embody that view – as do each of this year’s award winners.’

Two other awards were presented last night to two educational establishments in the region.

The Quality Places Award went to Ryde School on the Isle of Wight, while the Urban Design Award, sponsored by the Urban Design Group, was won by the St Alphege Building at the University of Winchester.

Congratulating the winners, Councillor Sean Woodward, chairman of Push, said: ‘Good design can make great places and all these buildings underline this.

‘I applaud all three winners.’