Havant Chamber Orchestra returns to Ferneham Hall

Havant Chamber Orchestra
Havant Chamber Orchestra
Have your say

A popular Portsmouth-based pianist will be soloist in one of Mozart’s most popular concertos when the Havant Chamber Orchestra returns to Ferneham Hall.

Karen Kingsley will play the Piano Concerto No 21, which acquired new fame when a memorable melody from the slow movement was used in a 1967 Swedish film, Elvira Madigan.

The programme’s other main feature is Mendelssohn’s dazzling Symphony No 4, inspired by a happy visit to Italy and known as the Italian.

The chamber orchestra’s music director Robin Browning conducts the concert, which begins with a lesser-known piece – The Serenade For Small Orchestra by Leo Weiner.

It draws on folk rhythms from his native Hungary and gives opportunities for the orchestra’s highly-regarded wind soloists.

Havant Chamber Orchestra was formed by Peter Craddock in 1965 by the amalgamation of several ensembles. Like the Havant Symphony Orchestra it is made up of professional and gifted amateur players.

HAVANT CHamber Orchestra

Ferneham Hall, Fareham, May 14