My Weekend: Gareth Smith

Gareth Smith
Gareth Smith
Former Great British Bake Off contestant Enwezor Nzegwu takes part in a 24-hour treadmill relay at Portsmouth University Gym to raise money for cystic fibrosis. Fellow participant Dannii Hutchins gives support. 'Picture Ian Hargreaves  (180224-1)

Bake-Off star organises 24-hour charity run at University of Portsmouth

Have your say

Gareth Smith, 37, is a firefighter. In his spare time he runs the 220 Ent dance school in Southsea, which he founded in 2008. He lives with his wife, Becky, 31 and their children in Fratton.

When did you last go away?

My last trip away was to Copenhagen, Denmark, for the 2013 World Hip Hop Championships. It was a very tiring but rewarding week away with 220 and Team England.

What was the last concert you went to?

I believe the last concert I went to was Usher’s Confessions tour at Wembley, which would have been about 10 years ago! I really need to get out more don’t I?

What was the last book you read?

The last time I read a book I was probably at school. I’m not big on reading

What was the last film you saw?

The last film I saw was Pain and Gain starring Mark Wahlberg and Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson. The Rock was surprisingly funny and the film was very good.

What’s your favourite way to relax?

To be honest I like to just sit around and do nothing when I get the chance. If the sun is out and I can do that in the garden, even better.

What do you watch on TV?

I enjoy watching US crime dramas like NCIS, CSI and Burn Notice.

Which TV programmes do you avoid?

Masterchef is boring. I guess that’s one of the reasons I’m a bad cook.

Which celeb would you most like to spend a weekend with?

Probably Will Smith, I think he would be hilarious and could definitely get us into some good places.

Where do you shop?

I tend to shop all over the place and do a lot online too, but basically anywhere that sells good trainers.

Where do you eat out?

Generally somewhere family-friendly like the Farmhouse, Harvester or Toby Carvery as they provide a good range on their menu. They’re also affordable. Occasionally I’ll pop to Nandos for some chicken.

What’s your signature dish, if you’re cooking?

I’m not much of a cook, although I don’t mind having a go. I most commonly cook either chilli or tuna pasta bake as they are pretty hard to get wrong.

What about pubs and bars? Where do you go?

I don’t venture out much but for me the music is important so somewhere like Club 8, which is always playing good music, usually wins.

Where’s good for a day out locally?

I quite often visit the seafront as the kids can ride their bikes or scooters. You also have the parks, Canoe Lake and the butterfly museum. So plenty of options to keep the kids busy.

What about a day trip further afield?

The kids enjoy a trip to Legoland occasionally.

Do you have any hobbies?

I don’t really have time for anything else after the kids, work and dance.