Awards and appointments at the ‘Horti’

AGM NEWS Jan Mitchell from the Hayling Island Horticultural Society reports on the committee changes for next year
AGM NEWS Jan Mitchell from the Hayling Island Horticultural Society reports on the committee changes for next year
Have your say

Jan Mitchell from the Hayling Island Horticultural Society talks about what happened at the group’s annual general meeting

Peggy Jackson, the first Lady President of the ‘Horti’, told the committee she planned to retire after the meeting.

Chairman Bill Biggs said members should acknowledge the outstanding length of continuous service given by Peggy to the society in nearly every duty.

She was a mainstay of the management committee under the late Sir John Lea.

Peggy was presented with a bouquet of flowers by Ann Biggs, after which she carried out the presentation of trophies.

She awarded the President’s Trophy to the person whom she considered to have given the most for the society in 2015 and this was Martin Smith who was retiring as a team leader of ‘team five’ at the Trading Centre in Legion Road after almost 40 years.

The members of his team are sad to see him go.

Veronica Holland was also presented with a bouquet as she was also retiring from team five after service of over 20 years.

Geoff Holland will be stepping into Martin’s shoes.

Audrey White graciously accepted the management committee’s invitation to become president.

Audrey has given an outstanding length of extraordinary service to the society.

The post of acting vice-chairman will be filled by Peter Jackson until a successor to Audrey’s now vacant former post is filled.

The chairman, trading manager Peter Jackson, and the joint membership secretaries Janet and John Lark, were due for re-election, and having signified their willingness to continue for a further three years were duly elected.

Ray Jones stood down from the post of show manager and Tim Speller accepted the offer to take over.

The ‘President’s Trophy’ was won by Martin Smith, and the Burgess Cup was won by Wendy Sandham.

The Maggss Trophy went to Wendy Sandham and the Society Cup was awarded to Kathleen Saunders.

Christrina Jones won the Penhampton Bowl and the Chris Petit Memorial Prize went to Enzo Richardson.

The Millennium Trophy was won by Maggie Martin while the Frank Goatcher Photographic Trophy went to Gary Kenmir.

The Rosalind Gridley Trophy was won by Marilyn Naunton-Evans.

n Visit to find ouot more about the horticultural society.