Meon are basketball champions

WINNERS Meon Juniors' team
WINNERS Meon Juniors' team
Forest School Leaders Dawn White and Sue Evans with their pupils outside the school

Picture: Habibur Rahman (180146-338)

Delight as nursery is rated ‘outstanding’ by Ofsted once again

Have your say

AGILE youngsters beat 15 junior teams to win this year’s Portsmouth Schools Basketball League.

The team of four girls and five boys from Meon Juniors in Southsea clinched the trophy after a nail-biting win against finalists Arundel Court Juniors, Corpus Christi Primary and St Swithun’s Catholic Primary, who came second overall.

Carole Barber, the school’s PE co-ordinator, who attended the March 16 finals at Charter Academy, said: ‘It was incredibly exciting and we were especially pleased to win as we came second last year.

‘The children were amazing on the day – we don’t have a big team but every one of them gave it their best’

The winning team members are Sam Cripps, Sonny Brooks, George Scaddan, Sam Harman, Henry Lavell-Smith, Owen Downes, Emily Winslade, Sophia Pharoah, Amy Parker and Amy Perryman.