Big smiles as Chaudhry Pharmacy is crowned winner at the awards

Pharmacy of the Year winner Chaudhry Pharmacy in Havant
Pharmacy of the Year winner Chaudhry Pharmacy in Havant
Have your say

Friendly service and a knowledge of medicine gave Chaudhry Pharmacy the edge over others at the Best of Health Awards 2015.

The pharmacy, in Greywell Road, Havant, walked away as winners in the Pharmacy of the Year category.

For manager Mita Thakrar and her team, the award was especially poignant as they only took over 18 months ago.

Fighting back the tears, she said: ‘We were so happy and elated to hear our names called out as winners.

‘We were thrilled to be nominated in the first place. And to know we were nominated by our customers is just absolutely amazing.

‘We took over this pharmacy 18 months ago and have worked hard to build a relationships with our patients, who are actually more like friends.

‘Winning this award shows we are doing the right thing.’

Several nominations came in for this pharmacy, including one by Janice Adams, of Havant.

In her nomination, she said: ‘Not only do you receive a very warm welcome, but the service, whatever it may be, is made personal by all the staff making it their responsibility to get to know their customers.

‘The staff take the time to deal with all issues being treated as a matter of urgency.

‘Their service is friendly, confidential and understanding.

‘We feel we can trust and approach them with any professional or medical problem we have.

‘The shop is kept to a very high standard with time taken in their displays.

‘We feel we are very lucky to have Chaudhry chemist’s staff, who make visiting there a pleasure.’

Finishing runner-up in the category was Venthams Chemist, in Copnor Road, Portsmouth.

The team here were praised for delivering service with a smile, being helpful and having a wealth of advice to hand.

This year’s awards were held at the Portsmouth Guildhall, where scores of people nominated their health heroes in 11 categories.

There was an overall Compassion and Care Award , sponsored by overall sponsors the Portsmouth Clinical Commissioning Group.