The News Best of Health Awards: nominations list

2014 gp Practice of The Year ''Presented by: Sue Harriman Chief Executive of Solent NHS Trust ''Winner: Brockhurst Medical Centre''Picture: Malcolm Wells
2014 gp Practice of The Year ''Presented by: Sue Harriman Chief Executive of Solent NHS Trust ''Winner: Brockhurst Medical Centre''Picture: Malcolm Wells
Have your say

And all the nominations for this year’s Best of Health Awards 2015 are in!

This is the sixth year that The News has run these awards that celebrate our heroes in all areas of the health spectrum.

From GPs to hospital doctors, pharmacists to dentists, mental health and community health workers and care homes – we have a category to honour all those who help us stay fit and well.

This year we have a new category – the Allied Health Professionals Worker/Team of the Year.

And in another first for the awards, our overall sponsors the Portsmouth Clinical Commissioning Group will be handing out a special care and compassion award to one winner on the night.

Mark Waldron, editor of The News, said: ‘Now we have been doing these awards for six years and they have become firmly established, I’m amazed to see how many refreshing stories we still get.

‘Our nominations are always a compelling read and it’s great to hear heart-warming and inspirational stories about the fantastic help and support given to our readers.’

Now the nominations are in it’s time for judging to commence.

Dr Janet Maxwell, director of public health for Portsmouth, is one of the judges.

She said: ‘It’s excellent that The News is running this award programme again this year.

‘There is so much great work going on which we need to celebrate.

‘Last year’s entries were truly inspiring and I have no doubt that this year’s will be just as compelling.

‘I am looking forward to hearing stories of dentists, pharmacists, carers, mental health workers, community teams, nurses and doctors who have made a difference to our communities.

‘I’m looking forward to judging the submissions and celebrating the successes of all the organisations who deliver excellent healthcare services in the Portsmouth area.’

The winners and runner-ups will be revealed at our awards ceremony, which is being held at the Portsmouth Guildhall on Friday, October 9. Tickets for the black-tie event will be on sale from Monday, August 10, and cost £39, which includes a drinks reception, two-course meal, and the prize-giving. To find out more call Liz Parker on (023) 9262 2206 or e-mail


Hospital Nurse of the Year

Mark Green, heart failure nurse

Colin Beever, matron

Emily Lowes, student midwife

Jayne Fairbrother, nurse at St Mary’s Treatment Centre

Joana Castanheira, neonatal intensive care unit nurse

Unsung Hero

Kelly Tanner and Neil Thorpe - helping with CPR

Heather Caruth and Linda Smith - Help in Bereavement

Eric Compton - Breathe Easy

Robert Cave - Pals

Trudie Hatchard - admin assistant for the community ED team

Lynne Osborne - Clarity Care

Dental Practice of the Year

Hilsea Dental Care

Health House Dental Practice, Cosham

Pharmacy of the Year

RJ Berrys, Portsmouth

Sainsburys pharmacy, Broadcut

Brockhurst Pharmacy, Gosport

Chaudhry Pharmacy, Havant

Venthams Chemist, Portsmouth

Parade Pharmacy, Havant

Hospital Team of the Year

Rheumatology team

Cardiac rehabilitation team

Wendy Fletcher and the team for IBS treatment

Colin Beever and team for pain treatment

Amurlee team at St Mary’s Community Health Campus

Neonatal intensive care unit

Orthopaedic occupational therapist team

Cardiac unit

Ward E8 at QA

Haemodialysis team

Jackie Little and Vivienne Halliday, Spire Portsmouth Hospital

GP Practice of the Year

Waverley Road Surgery

Staunton Surgery

Portsdown Group Practice

Lake Road Practice

Fareham Health Centre

Osborne Road Surgery

Derby Road Group Practice

Milton Park Practice

Westlands Medical Centre

Crookhorn Lane Surgery

Denmead Health Centre

Gudge Heath Lane Surgery

Brockhurst Medical Centre

Eastney Healthcare Centre

Gosport Medical Centre

Dr Andrew Ozzard, Cosham Park House

Dr Richard Millard, Denmead Health Centre

Care/Nursing Home of the Year

Easterlea Rest Home, Waterlooville

Cross Way House Care Home, Havant

Admiral Care, Portsmouth

Thalassa Care Home, Gosport

Spinnaker Lodge, Portsmouth

Allied Health

Professional Worker/Team of the Year

Paramedics Karl Touhey MBE, Lewis Meale and Mat Purssey

Jeehan Lynch, shoulder specialist physiotherapy

Tania Jepp, physiotherapist

Pip Kerr, physiotherapy clinical expert in surgery and orthopaedics

Lou Baker and Maria Rowse, physiotherapists at the Turner Centre

Claire Jeffries, physiotherapy manager and clinical specialist in hydrotherapy and rheumatology

Inpatient physiotherapy service

Paramedic Chris Elvidge

Chrissie Carden-Noad, specialist occupational therapist

Julie Farah, occupational therapist for the brain injury outreach team

Community Worker/Team of the Year

Sisterly Care

Annabella Pearce and Simon Ghafur, MS support

ERS at Home

South-east Hampshire community diabetes team

Heart failure team

Sexual health promotion team’s rapid HIV testing

Mental Health Worker/Team of the Year

Portsmouth Mind

Talking Change

Dr Kevin Ostler, consultant psychiatrist

Community development team for adult mental health services

Amanda Hawkins, mental health activities co-ordinator

Hospital Doctor of the Year

Dr Amanda Quine, consultant gastroenterologist

Dr Annie Cooper, rheumatology

Dr Jos Wace, consultant anaesthetist

Dr Jim Khan, specialist colorectal surgeon

Dr Caroline Archer, oncology consultant