Mozart and Weber at classical concert in Fareham

Winchester jail put in special measures

Have your say

HAVANT Chamber Orchestra is preparing for its next concert.

The performance, at Ferneham Hall, in Fareham, opens with a sinfonia by Johann Christian Bach.

The orchestra will be split in two at the beginning of the evening and then revert to the normal layout for the remainder of the concert.

The trumpet section will be in the spotlight for Handel’s Second Suite, from Water Music.

Mozart’s 17th Piano Concerto will also be performed.

After the interval Weber’s rarely-heard First Symphony, which spans the classical/romantic divide, will be the finale.

The evening will begin at 6.30pm with a talk by Terry Barfoot about Mozart and his 17th Piano Concerto while younger listeners join their own Upbeat Club.

Tickets for the May 19 concert cost £18, £15.50, £12 and £7 with 50 per cent concessions for students.

Under-19s are admitted at £1 a ticket. Order from the box office in person or by phone on 01329 231942 or at Alternatively buy on the door.