Sea cadets celebrate a great year

200 cadets were on parade in Gosport   Picture: Allan Hutchings (132691-315)
200 cadets were on parade in Gosport Picture: Allan Hutchings (132691-315)
Fareham Crusaders will be running to boost the local food bank

Runners take on challenge for food bank

Have your say

SEA cadets celebrated a job well done at an awards ceremony to praise their achievements and hard work.

The cadets at Gosport’s TS Hornet, based in Royal Clarence Yard, held their annual awards ceremony last night.

More than a dozen cadets were honoured with a range of trophies and crests for their hard work over the past 12 months.

Presenting the awards was the deputy mayor of Gosport, Councillor Wayne Ronayne.

He said: ‘It was a privilege for me to have been able to present these awards.

‘I served 34 years in the Royal Navy and also was a sea cadet myself when I was younger.

‘The Sea Cadet Corps is the reason I am here now, because if it wasn’t for that experience I wouldn’t have joined the navy, I wouldn’t have moved to Gosport, and I wouldn’t be deputy mayor now.

‘I have no doubt that one day at least one of these cadets will be in my position.’

Alverstoke-based swimmer Anna Wardley was also there, and she thanked the cadets for letting her use their base as a hub for her recent swim around the Isle of Wight.

More than 20 awards were handed out. The winners were:

n Promoted to Cadet: JSCFC Hatch and JSFC Burgess;

n Sea Cadet Corps Coxswains Badge: L/C Fieldsend, O/C Salmon;

n Junior Sea Cadet Sports Award: JSFC J Bruce;

n Junior Most Improved: JSFC J Salmon;

n Junior Best Attendance: JCFC K Burgess;

n Sports Award: OC Palmer and OC Varndell;

n Drill and Ceremonial Award: AC Teixeira;

n Adventurous Training Award: OC Prior;

n Seamanship award: Cdt S Frasle;

n General Boat Handling: OC H Salmon;

n Kayaking award: Cdt Potter;

n Rowing award: AC C Teixeira;

n Offshore award: LC Fieldsend and LC Jacobs;

n Endeavour award: OC L Harding;

n Attendance award: OC A Varndell;

n Most progressive cadet: Cdt J Williams;

n Most progressive senior cadet: LC Jack Jacobs;

n Junior cadet of the year: JSFC K Burgess;

n First Lieutenant award: AC B Barry;

n Commanding officer’s award: OC H Kitcheman;

n Pipe of achievement: OC H Salmon;

n Cadet of the year: LC B Fieldsend and LC Jack Jacobs.