Former Havant MP David Willetts to become life peer in House of Lords

David Willetts
David Willetts
Have your say

FORMER Havant MP David Willetts is to become a life peer in the House of Lords, the government has revealed.

Mr Willetts, who represented the borough from 1992 to 2015, is one of 45 politicians who are to to be appointed the prestigious title.

Life peerages are created under the Life Peerages Act 1958 and entitle the holders to seats in the House of Lords.

During his time as MP, Mr Willetts served in a number of key frontbench roles, including paymaster general in John Major’s government and, most recently, as minister for Universities and Science from 2010 to 2014.

Mr Willetts chairs the British Science Association, has joined the Advisory Council of the President of the Royal Society and is also a trustee of the Science Museum, in London.

Below is the full list of peerage nominations:

Nominations from the Leader of the Conservative Party

James Arbuthnot – former MP for North East Hampshire and Front Bench Minister

Rt Hon Gregory Barker – former MP for Bexhill and Battle and former Minister of State at the Department for Energy and Climate Change

Catherine Fall – Deputy Chief of Staff to the Prime Minister

Simone Finn – Special Adviser to the Minister of State for Trade

Stephen Gilbert – Deputy Chairman of the Conservative Party

Rt Hon William Hague – former MP for Richmond and former Foreign Secretary

Robert Hayward OBE – former MP for Kingswood, Board Member of Dignity in Dying and Trustee for the YMCA

Rt Hon Douglas Hogg QC – former MP for Sleaford and North Hykeham and held several ministerial roles

Rt Hon Andrew Lansley CBE – former MP for South Cambridgeshire and former Cabinet Minister

James Lupton CBE – Chairman of Greenhill Europe and former Co-Treasurer of the Conservative Party

Ruby McGregor-Smith CBE – CEO of Mitie Group PLC

Anne McIntosh – former MP for Thirsk and Malton and Chairman of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Select Committee

Michelle Mone OBE – leading entrepreneur and sits on the Board of Directors for The Prince’s Scottish Youth Business Trust

James O’Shaughnessy – Managing Director of Floreat Education

Emma Pidding CBE – former Chiltern District Councillor and former Chairman of the National Conservative Convention

Stuart Polak CBE – Director of the Conservative Friends of Israel

Councillor Gary Porter – Councillor for South Holland District Council and Chairman of the Local Government Association

Councillor Elizabeth Redfern – Leader of North Lincolnshire Council

Rt Hon Andrew Robathan – former MP for South Leicestershire and several Front Bench and government roles

Kate Rock – Vice-Chairman of the Conservative Party

Councillor Jane Scott OBE – Leader of the Wiltshire Council

Kevin Shinkwin – longstanding voluntary sector professional

Philip Smith CBE – Chief Executive of the Association of Conservative Clubs

Philippa Stroud – Special Adviser to the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions

Rt Hon David Willetts – former MP for Havant and several Front Bench roles

Rt Hon Sir George Young Bt CH – former MP for North West Hampshire and former Cabinet Minister

Nominations from the Leader of the Liberal Democrat Party at the time of Dissolution

Sir Alan Beith – former MP for Berwick-upon-Tweed and former Chair of the Justice Select Committee

Sharon Bowles – former MEP for South East England

Sir Malcolm Bruce – former MP for Gordon, and former Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrats

Lorely Burt – former MP for Solihull and former Chair of the Liberal Democrats

Rt Hon Sir Menzies ‘Ming’ Campbell CH, CBE, QC – former MP for North East Fife and former Leader of the Liberal Democrats

Lynne Featherstone – former MP for Hornsey and Wood Green and held several ministerial positions

Don Foster - former MP for Bath and former Liberal Democrat Chief Whip

Jonny Oates – former Chief of Staff to the Deputy Prime Minister in the coalition government

Shas Sheehan – former Councillor for Kew and involved in several community groups

Sir Andrew Stunell – former MP for Hazel Grove and former Department for Communities and Local Government Minister

Dorothy Thornhill MBE – Mayor of Watford; former Councillor and Assistant Headteacher

Nominations from the Leader of the Labour Party at the time of Dissolution

Rt Hon David Blunkett – former MP for Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough and former Cabinet Minister

Rt Hon Alistair Darling – former MP for Edinburgh South West and former Cabinet Minister

Rt Hon Peter Hain – former MP for Neath and former Cabinet Minister

Rt Hon Tessa Jowell DBE – former MP for Dulwich and West Norwood and former Cabinet Minister

Spencer Livermore – senior Campaign Strategist for the Labour Party

Paul Murphy – former MP for Torfaen and former Cabinet Minister

Rt Hon Dawn Primarolo DBE – former MP for Bristol South and former Minister

Dave Watts – former MP for St Helens North and former Chair of Parliamentary Labour Party