General Election: Damian Hinds holds East Hampshire for Tories

editorial image
Have your say

DAMIAN Hinds retained East Hampshire for the Conservatives.

He won with 31,334 votes and a majority of 25,147 ahead of Ukip’s Peter Baillie gaining 6,187 votes.

Liberal Democrat candidate Richard Robinson gained 5,732 votes.

Labour candidate Alex Wilks gained 5,220 votes, with Peter Bisset of the Green Party winning 3,176 votes.

The declaration was made at 6am.

Mr Hinds, pictured, who before becoming an MP worked in the pubs, brewing and hotel industries, has represented East Hampshire since the 2010 election when he won the seat with 56 per cent of the vote, ahead of Liberal Democrat candidate Adam Carew.

Since becoming an MP, he has begun cultivating a ministerial career by becoming Parliamentary Private Secretary to Minister of State for the Armed Forces Mark Francois.

He was also elected to the Education Select Committee, serving until October 2012, as well as chairing the All-Party Parliamentary Group of Social Mobility.

Since becoming an MP, Mr Hinds has focused on bringing attention to issues such as protecting pubs, illegal grazing of horses and responsible lending.

East Hampshire result:

Damian Hinds (CON) 31,334

Peter Baillie (Ukip) 6,197

Richard Robinson (Lib Dem) 5,732

Alex Wilks (Lab) 5,220

Peter Bisset (Green) 3,176

Majority: 25,147

East Hampshire turnout percentage: 73 per cent

See updates here from our reporters and a live feed of the headlines as they happen nationwide.