This Hampshire constituency is set to be axed under proposed boundary changes

A Hampshire constituency is facing the axe under proposed boundary changes.Â

Monday, 10th September 2018, 5:51 pm
Updated Monday, 10th September 2018, 5:58 pm
George Hollingbery's Meon Valley constituency is set to be axed

The Boundary Commission for England have released their final proposals, which will see the number of the MPs across the country reduced. 

In Hampshire there are currently 18 constituencies and under the plans that would be cut to 17 - with Meon Valley set to be cut. 

The constituency was only created following the 2010 boundary changes but is going to be axed. 

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

George Hollingbery's Meon Valley constituency is set to be axed

Read More

Read More
Read More: Portsmouth sports club says homes plan is vital for survival

Meon Valley was formed with electoral wards from East Hampshire, Havant and Winchester districts - and includes Waterlooville and Horndean. 

George Hollingbery is the current MP for the constituency '“ having being elected in 2010. 

Under the plans the Borough of Havant wards of Cowplain, Hart Plain, and Waterloo will be returned to the Havant constituency.

While the City of Winchester ward of Whiteley will become part of Fareham constituency. 

The rest of the electoral wards will be split between Winchester constituency and East Hampshire constituency - with Horndean becoming part of the constituency. 

While Meon Valley is being axed, the following constituencies will remain: 

- Aldershot

- Basingstoke

- East Hampshire

- Eastleigh 

- Fareham 

- Gosport

- Havant

- New Forest East 

-  New Forest West

- North East Hampshire 

- North West Hampshire

- Portsmouth North

- Portsmouth South

- Southampton Itchen

- Southampton Test

- Test Valley

- Winchester 

Sam Hartley, secretary to the Boundary Commission for England, said: '˜We've travelled the country, taken account of over 35,000 public comments, and heard many impassioned views about how best to reflect local communities in our recommendations, while ensuring that constituencies are all much more equally represented.

'˜We're confident that the map we propose today is the best match of the legal rules Parliament has set us. It's now up to Parliament to decide whether these boundaries will be used at the next general election.' 

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn's seat would be axed and former Brexit secretary David Davis's Haltemprice & Howden seat is still set for abolition

The proposals still have to be debated and voted on by MPs in Parliament.