Mix of experience andskills for police panel

FIVE new members have been welcomed on to the Hampshire Police and Crime Panel.

By The Newsroom
Tuesday, 25th October 2016, 6:06 am
Updated Tuesday, 25th October 2016, 8:10 pm

Two new independent members and three local authority members have been approved to join the panel, to scrutinise, challenge and support the work of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Hampshire.

The panel’s chairman, Councillor David Stewart, said: ‘We are delighted to welcome five new members to the Hampshire Police and Crime Panel.

‘A number of high-calibre candidates put their names forward for the roles, which made it very difficult to choose.

‘The five new members were picked for the blend of skills and experience they will bring, and I’m certain they will strengthen the panel further in its important role to scrutinise and support the commissioner.’

The two new independent members are Michael Coombes, a former finance director at Hampshire Constabulary and current chair of governors at Sparsholt and Andover Colleges and Bob Purkiss MBE, a former independent co-opted member of the panel, who has experience in advocacy and complaints work.

The three new local authority members are Councillor Reg Barry, of Isle of Wight Council, Councillor Lynne Stagg, of Portsmouth City Council, and Councillor Frank Rust, of Rushmoor Borough Council.