So who will get your vote in the elections?

CAREFUL JOB Counting starts after an election
CAREFUL JOB Counting starts after an election

30 ways Portsmouth could be improved - according to our readers

Have your say

BUOYED by their success in the recent Eastleigh by-election, UKIP is fielding candidates in almost every seat in the county elections.

Local elections take place on May 2 and there are 78 seats up for grabs at Hampshire County Council and two at Havant Borough Council after long-term councillors stood down.

One of the biggest battles is expected in Hayling Island between the sitting councillor Frank Pearce, a Conservative vying for a second term, and UKIP’s John Perry.

Mr Perry came second at last year’s Havant borough election with 24 per cent of the vote and is confident he can take the seat.

He said: ‘Last year’s election was quite an interesting experience and I was very encouraged by that.

‘I’m quite optimistic because there seems to be a groundswell of support for UKIP policies.

‘On Hayling we now share our police sergeant with Emsworth whereas before we had our own police sergeant.

‘I want to open up lines of communication with police so local people have more say.

‘Money has also been wasted on a consultation about introducing a 20mph speed limit in West Town when it was totally unnecessary.

‘That money could have been better spent repairing the roads.’

But Councillor Pearce said he fought the closure or Hayling Police Station and the imminent move to Hayling Library as much as he could while Mr Perry has publicly supported the cost saving measure.

He added: ‘In the end we didn’t get the 70 per cent support needed for the 20mph but that money had always been earmarked for the consultation.

‘We don’t have a lot of say over the police, they are independent, but I will write to the police commissioner saying how unhappy I am about the situation.

‘I’ve done a lot for Hayling. My £40,000 budget has gone on Hayling youth clubs, charities and various organisations and I’ve had input into the road repairs.’

Jenny Wride and David Gillett are the Havant borough councillors who have stepped down.


Bedhampton and Leigh Park

Anthony Berry, Lab

Ann Brown, Lib Dem

Liz Fairhurst, Con*

Ray Finch, UKIP

Christpher Gould

Stephen Harris, UKIP

Martin Lewis, Green

Diana Patrick, Con

Faith Ponsonby, Lib Dem

Simon Vassallo, Lab

Bishop’s Waltham

Roger Bentote, Lib Dem

Rob Humby, Con

Robert Rudge, Lab

Vivienne Young, UKIP


Patrick Bergin, UKIP

Christopher Caffin, BNP

Shaun Culley, Lab

Mike Geddes, Con*


David Alexander, UKIP

Caroline Footman, Green

Katie Green, Lab

Marge Harvey, Con

Steve Prothero, Lib Dem

Cowplain and Hart Plain

Alex Bowers, UKIP

Bruce Holman, Green

David Keast, Con*

Ken Monks, Lab

Terry Port, Lib Dem

Emsworth and St Faith’s

Christine Armitage, Lab

Ray Bolton, Con*

Tim Dawes, Green

Roisin Miller, Lib Dem

Ian Reddoch, UKIP

Fareham Crofton

Jim Forest, Lib Dem

Tim Knight, Con*

Leslie Ricketts, Lab

Christopher Wood, UKIP

Fareham Portchester

Raymond Ellis, Con

Roger Price, Lib Dem*

Stuart Rose, Lab

John Vivian, Green

Fareham Sarisbury

Angela Carr, Lab

Mary Holliday-Bishop, Lib Dem

Sean Woodward, Con*

Fareham Titchfield

Jack Englefield, Ind

Sue Hardie, Lib Dem

Geoffrey Hockley, Con*

Michael Prior, Lab

Fareham Town

James Carr, Lab

David Harrison, Green

Dilys Harrison, Green

Bob Ingram, UKIP

Peter Latham, Con

David Norris, Lib Dem

George Ringrow, Con

Richard Ryan, Lab

David Whittingham, UKIP

Paul Whittle, Lib Dem

Fareham Warsash

Keith Evans, Con*

Miles Grindey, Green

Craig Lewis, Lib Dem

Andrew Mooney, Lab

David Nightingale, UKIP

Hayling Island

Gene Cann

Michael Clarke, Lab

Anne Martin, Lib Dem

Frank Pearce, Con*

John Perry, UKIP

Paul Valentine, Green


Graham Burgess, Con*

Paul Keeley, Lib Dem

Curtis Sinclair, UKIP

Graham Smith, Green

Jill Whitcher, Lab

Leesland and Town

Tim Apps, UKIP

Christopher Carter, Con*

Peter Edgar, Con*

Austin Hicks, Lib Dem

Robert Hylands, Lib Dem

Michael Madgwick, Lab

Gavin Miller, BNP

Terry Mitchell, Green

John Train, Lab

Meon Valley

Kim Comotto, UKIP

Christopher Day, Lib Dem

Roger Huxstep, Con

David Picton-Jones, Lab

Petersfield Butser

Bill Enstone, Green

Byron Grainger-Jones, Lib Dem

Steven Marston, UKIP

Bill Organ, Lab

John West, Con*

Petersfield Hangers

Vaughan Clarke, Con*

Stephen Coles, UKIP

Adam Harper, Green

Howard Linsley, Lab and Co-operative Party

Roger Mullenger, Lib Dem

Purbrook and Stakes South

Ann Bazley, Lib Dem

Munazza Faiz, Lab

Gary Kerrin, UKIP

Robin McIntosh, Con*

Waterloo and Stakes

Ann Briggs, Con

William Farnham, UKIP

Owen Plunkett, Green

Howard Sherlock, Lab

Elaine Woodard, Lib Dem

Winchester Southern Parishes

Vivian Achwal, Lib Dem

John Cooper, Ind

John Henderson, UKIP

Sheena King, Lab

Patricia Stallard, Con*



Anthony Berry, Lab

Ann Brown, Lib Dem

Stephen Harris, UKIP

Terry Mitchell, Green

David Smith, Con


Christine Armitage, Lab

Susan Kelly, Green

Colin Mackey, Con

Roisin Miller, Lib Dem

Ian Reddoch, UKIP