Whatsapp is about to launch a major new update but users are being warned that it could cause backed up messages, photos and videos to be deleted.
The popular messaging app is used by 1.5 billion users around the world.
However it is set to go under a revamp in the coming months – with the major new update coming on November 12.
From that date any users that haven’t updated their back-up pictures, messages and videos face seeing them being deleted.
The Mirror reports that WhatsApp have struck a deal with Google that will see users data stored in Google Drive and it won’t count towards the storage limit.
However they will not be protected by WhatsApp encryption services.
WhatsApp told the Mirror: ‘Media and messages you back up aren't protected by WhatsApp end-to-end encryption while in Google Drive.’
Which means that Google will be able to access the data while it is in stored in Google Drive – sparking privacy concerns with users who use WhatsApp for its encryption services.
The messages won’t be deleted from your phone, but if you were to upgrade or change or phone then you wouldn’t be able to recover them from back-up.
Google will delete the back-ups not updated for a year to help clear space.
How can you save back-ups from being deleted?
If you have old pictures, videos or messages you wish to save from being deleted from November 12 – you will first have to make sure you have the Google Drive app downloaded on your phone or device as well as a Google account to go along with it.
Then you should open up WhatsApp and go to menu.
Click settings, then chats and finally chat back-up.
If you select back-up all your messages, photos and videos to Google Drive – but only if you are connected to WiFi.
You can also set WhatsApp to do regular back-ups so you don't risk losing them in future.