Al’s Club enjoy perfect start

Copnor A's Ant Lacey made the most of his handicap to see off Copnor B's John Oldfield
Copnor A's Ant Lacey made the most of his handicap to see off Copnor B's John Oldfield
Share this article
Serena Vincent. Picture: Paul Smith

Serena Vincent reaches new level to rewrite history book

Have your say

Al’s Club got off to the best-possible start in the new Portsmouth Billiards League with an emphatic 7-0 whitewash of Copnor C.

They set the early pace at the top of division one when Ashley Bendell’s 33 break saw off the challenge of Steve Chino to complete the victory.

There were also good wins for Mark Kingswell and Matt James, who won with ease.

Meanwhile, Trevor Sanders, Matt Hannam and Justin Andrews recorded wins by the smallest of margins.

Last year’s winners, Copnor A, started their defence with a 4-3 win against Copnor B.

For the A team, Mick Hall won 150-140 over Peter Rook.

And Ant Lacey looks well handicapped after he took full advantage to overcome John Oldfield 150-57.

Steve Morgan also showed his class by winning his match against John Wyatt.

Age showed its class for Copnor B as Norman Bradfield and Dennis Hushley won close matches.

This was backed up by John Shervell, who also won.

However, Copnor A won the aggregate to take the extra point.

Portchester X justified their stay in the top flight as they won a narrow contest against Craneswater A 4-3.

Portchester skipper Jason Tame led the way for his side with a big win against Pete Oughton (150-58).

Darren Inch won a close encounter by just pipping Steve Toms to the post 150-147, while Darren O’Hara was also on the mark for Portchester.

For Craneswater, Andy Boulton was their biggest winner (150-70) before Colin Rowe came from behind to win 150-148 against Karl Turp.

Steve Cole was the other winner for Craneswater, who lost the aggregate.

In the other division one match, Cowplain Gas beat LPWMC 5-2.

Mark Tillison had a couple of 40 breaks on the way to victory for Cowplain.

This was backed up by team-mates Steve Hughes, Frank Baxter and Terry Lees, who contributed to win the aggregate and the extra point.

For LPWMC, Neville Moyle won his match 150-123 against Ben Tillison, who was making his debut in the billiards league.

In division two, Top Spot started their campaign with a solid 6-1 win over Cowplain.

For Top Spot, four out of their six players won by the narrowest of margins.

Matthew Johnson saw off James Curtis by five, Steve McKnight won by two against Gary Curtis, while Colin Johnson’s and Steve Wilson’s wins were also close.

Cowplain’s Dave Pitman led from the front as he won 150 -69 against Ben Hounsome. He was well supported by Nathan Hickley.

Pompey Royals edged out Craneswater R 4-3.

Paul Tinsley and Chris Pugh won with ease for the Royals, while John Wilson just saw off Jack Frost by nine in a 150-141 win.

For Craneswater, Rob Dandy won his match 150-90.

Andy White and Andy Carter also won their games but it was in vain as the Royals just took the aggregate and the extra point.

League new-boys Copnor Xcels found it hard going against Carlton, losing 5-2.

Tony Horten and skipper Dave Gowing played well for Copnor, with Gowing winning by 85.

For Carlton, Gary Marshall’s 33 break and Roger Mo’s 32 break paved the way for victory.

And this was backed up by Alan Munday, Mel Davies and Derek Dean.

In the other match, Craneswater A beat Copnor F 6-1.

Leading from the front for Craneswater was Ian Carter, supported by Arthur Newland, Simon Petrie Jim Frisbee and Mark Jones.

For Copnor F, George Garrett beat Nigel Ward 150-145.