Newland goes down a storm

Darren Newland, left, collects his prize from Darren Phillips after winning the Allan's Marine Open
Darren Newland, left, collects his prize from Darren Phillips after winning the Allan's Marine Open
jpns-12-08-17 retro 2017 anglers''Anglers - Kathleen Harrison, from Milton, with her 1lb nine-and-a-half-ounce catch. She was another one of the winners in the Southsea children's sea angling competition

THIS YEAR IN 1979: Young anglers fall victims of the weather

Have your say

England international Darren Newland showed his class to battle through the elements and win the 27th Allan’s Marine Open.

The Isle-of-Wight angler landed nine fish, including four smoothhounds from peg two at Gillkicker, for a total weight of 9lb 7.5oz.

This annual event, held on the beaches of Gosport, has been a 200-peg sell-out for almost every year since its formation.

But this year, the competition was met with the most atrocious weather conditions in its history.

With the fishing in the days leading up to the event producing bumper bags of fish from the venues, the match was looking like it was going to be a record weigh-in.

On the day, though, there was only 63 anglers who braved the gale-force winds and torrential downpours.

A total of 26 anglers managed to register 52 fish between them, with the species caught on the day including bass, flounder, dab, dogfish, pout and smoothhound.

The event was fished to measure-and-return rules and a weight conversion chart was used, with the final winning places allotted using a continental points system.

Runner-up to Newland was Kirk Watson with a smoothhound of 3lb 10oz caught in C zone at Browndown.

His fish also netted him the heaviest fish pool.

Third place overall went to Stephen Durrant, who landed two bass and a smoothhound from zone B in Stokes Bay for 2lb 12oz. 

Allan’s Marine would like to thank Gosport & District Angling Club for the use of their club house and their hospitality on the day towards all of the anglers.


ZONE A, GILLKICKER: 1 Darren Newland 9-7.5; 2 Matt Brook 2-0; 3 Darren Wilson 11oz.

Zone B, Stokes Bay: 1 Stephen Durrant 2-12; 2 Joh Jenkins 1-8; 3 Ian Bowell 1-6.

Zone C, Browndown: 1 Kirk Watson 3-10; 2 John Brown 3-8; 3 Mike Goodger 2-13.