Classy Concannon takes Lakeside crown

James Baker sets the early pace with Peter Concannon on his heels. Picture: David Brawn
James Baker sets the early pace with Peter Concannon on his heels. Picture: David Brawn
ClassT9 30718 on a Stephenson Locomotive Society special waits for the off at Havant''Pictured at Havant we see a class T9 at the head of a Stephenson Locomotive  Society special. Can anyone confirm the date?'Picture: Barry Cox collection

NOSTALGIA: Long gone, but not forgotton – remembering old treasures

Have your say

Peter Concannon saw off the challenge from James Baker to be crowned Lakeside 5k series champion.

The Chichester Runners duo were locked together on points going into Wednesday’s finale.

Peter Concannon edged out James Baker. It was a very good contest between them

Peter Newton

Baker set the pace before Concannon hit the front in the final kilometre and completed an impressive victory in a time of 15min 47sec.

Baker finished 12 seconds behind (15.59).

As a result, Concannon won the series with his three scoring races all wins.

Baker scored with two wins and one second place.

Eastleigh’s Tom Stevens finished third on the night in 16.10 and third in the series.

Aldershot, Farnham & District athlete Lauren Hall was confirmed as ladies’ champion prior to the final race after three wins but was away on Wednesday.

Eastleigh’s Hannah Howard secured second spot in the series as she won the final race (18.31).

City of Portsmouth youngster Elizabeth Rose won the under-17 series title and was third lady overall.

Race director Peter Newton said: ‘Peter Concannon edged out James Baker.

‘It was a very good contest between them and we had lots of good series results.

‘Elizabeth Rose did very well to finish third lady.

‘Martin Williams won all five races in the VM55 category and Reg Ball won four in the VM60 age group.

‘Jane Harrop also won four races in the VW50 category.’

Stubbington’s Susie Macgregor was second lady on Wednesday night (19.21).

The local clubs including Stubbington Green Runners, Fareham Crusaders, Denmead Striders, Chichester Runners, City of Portsmouth and Victory were all represented in the race.