Bailey strikes again for title-chasing Fareham

editorial image
Gosport Forton Bowling CLub team members, back row, left to right:  Eric Meighan, Byron Lewis, Mick Lush,
Graham Sampson and Rob Williams
. Front Row, left to right: Steve Anderson, Brian Croucher (team captain
holding cup) and Malcolm Stimpson.

Another one for the trophy cabinet

Have your say

Fareham continued their title charge with a 15-shot away success at College Park in division one.

Charlie Bailey’s 15-shot win over Dave Smith, and Dorian Bishop’s eight-shot win covered the losses to Paul Lawrence and Clive Carter.

Waverley had their match postponed, due to the county last-eight finals.

Alexandra took over third spot after they heaped more misery on Gosport, beating them by 30 shots at Anglesea Gardens.

The Alex recorded wins on three rinks and tied the other, as Dave Blackledge drew with Barry Harman.

Vospers defeated Priory by 20 shots at Northern Parade, thanks to Terry Smith’s 25-shot beating of Tony Kneller.

That was Vospers’ only winning rink but Ray Porter earned a vital draw with Martin Eggleton.

Mike Elliott and Nigel Mundy won for Priory.

Rowner recorded a 10-shot home win over Lee-on-the-Solent, thanks to big wins for Keith Gerrard and Bill Ross, with Eric Brierley and Dennis Wren replying for Lee.

In division two, Leigh Park suffered a 16-shot defeat by Milton Park on Monday.

The size of the win was thanks to Dave Biggs’ rink, who beat Roy Collins by 12 shots. Dave Brown also recorded a win for Milton.

The Front Lawn boys won on the rinks of Barry Dixon and Pete Robinson but it wasn’t enough.

However, they responded on Friday, with a resounding 103-57 victory at division leaders Denmead.

Roy Collins (21 shots), Pete Robinson (17 shots) and Barry Dixon (12 shots) all won in style for Leigh Park.

On Friday, Milton Park moved into third place after their 32-shot win at Bridgemary.

Andy McKain, Dave Biggs and Dave Brown were all on form, with Alan Bloxham getting Bridgemary’s points.

Cowplain are fourth, after their 15-shot defeat of Star & Crescent.

Bryan Franklin’s 17-shot win did the job, with Graham King also getting the win bonus.

Alan New and Robbie Dennison replied for Star.

Hayling lost at home to Copnor by seven shots, despite Dave Johns’ 18-shot win over Terry Budd.

Pete Moody covered that loss by winning by 14 shots on his rink, plus Terry Whiting and Les Wilkinson also won for Copnor.

Division three leaders Bedhampton won again at home by 33 shots against Purbrook, thanks to Mick New and Ken Wills, with Mike Case also getting the win points.

Naismith enjoyed a 29-shot victory over Gas Social, thanks to Mick Chandler and Mick Penny, with Keith Brocks’ rink also winning.

They also saw off Forton by 14 shots, mainly thanks to Mick Chandler’s 18-shot win, with Mick Penny and Ben Brumby also victorious.

Cosham lost by 19 shots to Crofton, with Ian Knowlton’s 20-shot win decisive.

Dereck Leggett, Peter Smith and Rick Parry led Emsworth to a 23-shot success against Gas.

And Pembroke Gardens beat Phoenix by 12 shots, thanks to Trevor Watkins, Dave Brookes and Jim Taylor.