Champions Southsea back on top

Gary Starks
Gary Starks

Bowling club looking for new members

Have your say

Champions Southsea Waverley are back to where they usually are – top of the Portsmouth & District division one table.

They scraped home by one shot at Canoe Lake against newly-promoted Star & Crescent.

For the champs, Gary Starks won by 12 shots against Simon Filippi and Paul Cooke was a 10-shot winner against Tony Kneller.

But the Southsea club were given a scare as Mel Wilde beat Barry Starks by 13 and Paul Whiffin was an eight-shot winner against Iain Mackenzie.

Fareham, who had a week off, are in second place and Rowner moved into third after a 10-shot victory at Alexandra Park against Vospers.

In top form for the visitors was the Graeme Coles-skipped rink, who were always in the ascendancy as they beat Pete Sansbury by eight shots.

They were helped by Keith Gerrard who, despite conceding five shots on the final end, still had enough in hand to win by four against Ray Porter.

Bill Ross scored a double on the final end to tie with Bob Chadwick and, for Vospers, Dave Harding won by two against John Bailey.

Alexandra, who returned to the division after a year in the wilderness, appear to have found their form again as they enjoyed a seven-shot victory against College Park at the Northern Road club.

Leading the way for the hosts was Barry Harman with a 17-shot victory against Mike Elliott.

Jonathan Leggett won by four against Paul Lawrence.

Rescuing points for the College boys were Dave Smith, who won by 10 against Carl Baggott, and Adrian Snook, with a four-shot win against Alan Sprake.

Lee-on-the-Solent enjoyed a 20-shot victory against Denmead.

Playing on their own patch, the Lee rink of Terry Strutt, Peter Cook, Roy Cullen and skip John Etherton conceded just eight shots as they won by 14 against Denmead’s Dave Baxter.

Eric Brierley had an eight-shot success against Roland Bloy.

The visitors did take three points from the game, as Glyn Jones scored a double on the final end to win by one against Terry Rye.

Martyn Dubb scored 10 shots in the final four ends to tie with Barry Grinaway.

In division two, Milton Park, with a century-plus of shots, have taken over the top spot thanks to a 33-shot victory against Cowplain.

Playing at Milton Park, the rink of Rob Newman, Dave Meyer, Dave Bromley and skip Tony Hurst enjoyed a runaway 20-shot victory against Brian Franklin.

Meanwhile, the rink skipped by John Biggs won by 11 against Graham King, and Mick Molloy won by seven against Peter Parry.

The only good news for Cowplain was the three-shot win of Ted Howard against Dave Biggs.

Previous leaders Priory lost by 16 at Bridgemary’s Cunningham Drive green.

For the hosts, Alan Bloxham won by five against Arthur Newland and John Collyer won by the same amount against Trevor Moore.

Paul Pinder enjoyed a four-shot win against Mick Fryatt and making it maximum points for Bridgemary, Dave Beynon scored two more than Martin Eggleton.

Water Company were unable to get to grips with the all-weather surface at Waterlooville and suffered a 34-shot defeat.

On form for Ville was the rink skipped by Keith Warren, who enjoyed a 19-shot victory against Mick Edney.

Leigh Park visited Cosham Park and took maximum points from their encounter with Cosham, who are still to get off the mark in division two.

Leading the way for the visitors was the rink skipped by Leigh Park captain Peter Robinson, who enjoyed a runaway 19-shot victory against Dean Boswell.

Also chipping in was Paul Hatherley, who recovered from a nine-shot deficit to win by six shots against Paul Wallen.

Barry Dixon won by four against Reg Pearce and Roy Collins made it a 31-shot victory for Leigh with a two-shot win against Mel Dunbar.