Fareham step up glory bid with emphatic win

editorial image
Portsdown won the Lavant invitational

Victory edged by eventual winners... Final defeat for duo

Have your say

Fareham stepped up their title charge with a dominant 42-shot away win at bottom-of-the-table Gosport.

The Portsmouth & District League division one leaders were boosted by Charlie Bailey’s rink.

Bailey enjoyed a 21-shot win over Ken Stanbury.

Third-placed College Park travelled to Rowner and left with 14 points after their 11-shot win.

The win was all down to Steve Fielder’s 11-shot victory over Keith Gerrard.

Priory moved into fourth spot, following their 39-shot, all-rink home win over Waterlooville.

Vospers ended their losing streak by inflicting a 30-shot home win over Lee-on-the-Solent.

The win was based around Marty Wake’s 23-shot victory over Peter Gentry, with Pete Sansbury and Dave Harding also successful.

Eric Brierley picked up Lee’s points with an 11-shot win over Terry Smith.

In division two, Denmead won again with a 26-shot home victory against Milton Park.

They nearly got all the points as Tony Sewell, Mike Wright and Paul Kennington all won.

But Roland Bloy could only tie with Andy McKain.

Leigh Park kept up the pressure with an excellent 26-shot all-rink away win at Portsmouth Water.

Pete Robinson took the plaudits for Leigh Park with his 10-shot defeat of Brent Riste.

In fact, it was not a good week for the watermen as on Monday, in a rearranged match, they surprisingly lost at home to Copnor by 18 shots.

Copnor’s win was down to Lester Wilkinson’s 21-shot defeat of Wright, with Pete Moody also picking up the winning rink points.

Mick Edney and Brent Riste replied for the Watermen.

It was also a busy week for Milton, as on the Thursday they had beaten Star & Crescent by 14 shots on their home green, mainly thanks to Dave Brown’s 13-shot win over Simon Filippi.

Dave Biggs and Andy McKain also won for Milton, with Robbie Denninson winning for Star.

Cowplain carried on from last week with a 30-shot, all-rink home win over Hayling Island, based on Bryan Franklin’s 14-shot defeat of Dave Johns.

Bridgemary put a halt to Copnor’s celebrations by beating them by nine shots at Cunningham Drive home.

Brian Adams and Vic Clark won for Bridgemary.

Pete Moody and Dave Powe replied for Copnor.

Leaders Bedhampton went down to an 18-shot away defeat at Naismith in division three.

Mick Chandler, Mick Penny and Dave Lock impressed for Naismith.

Ken Wills got the sole points for Bedhampton.

Purbrook have moved into second place after winning twice in the week.

On Monday, they halted Forton’s winning streak with a seven-shot home win, thanks to Gary Farmer’s 13-shot success over Ian Mullholland, with Tony Wall also securing a victory.

Steve Anderson and Eric Meighen replied for Forton.

Purbrook then won by three shots at Emsworth. Dennis Goode and Gary Farmer inspired the victory with rink wins.