Normal service resumed for Waverley

Dave Biggs scored a vital win for Milton Park   Picture: Malcolm Wells (110064-6861)
Dave Biggs scored a vital win for Milton Park Picture: Malcolm Wells (110064-6861)

Open day at Portchester Bowling Club

Have your say

NORMAL service has resumed in division one of the Portsmouth & District Bowls Association League.

Southsea Waverley swept back to the top after scoring a century plus of shots at Lee-on-the-Solent to beat the hosts by 40.

Previous leaders Fareham saw their unbeaten record disappear as they suffered a seven-shot defeat on their own patch at the hands of Rowner.

College Park jumped up three places in the table after a 23-shot win at Denmead.

The rink of Richard Smith, Malcolm Rimmer, Terry Smith and skip Dave Smith enjoyed a runaway 31-shot victory against the Denmead rink skipped by Brian Le Marquer.

Adrian Snook also chipped in with a five-shot win against Martyn Dubb and there was a three-shot success for Paul Lawrence against Roland Bloy.

Denmead salvaged two points as Glyn Jones beat Clive Carter by 16 shots.

Milton Park retained the top spot in division two after a close contest at the Water Company where both teams finished on the same number of shots but Milton scored more rink points.

For Milton, Dave Biggs won by nine shots against Mike Edney and Mick Molloy was a six-shot winner against Brent Riste, while for the Water boys Keith Wright won by 14 shots against John Biggs and Arthur Hind and Tony Hurst tied.

Bridgemary, who were resting, remain in second place, 16 points clear of Waterlooville, who moved up to third after beating Leigh Park by 20 shots.

Ron Jackson enjoyed a runaway 22-shot success against Paul Hatherley and Keith Warren won by 10 against Barry Dixon.

Naismith moved off the bottom thanks to a 12-shot victory against Priory.

Keith Brocks won by 10 against Martin Eggleton and Kevin Boyd beat Arthur Newland by 10 as Naismith eased to victory.

For Priory, Mick Friatt scored 10 shots in the final three ends to beat Les Watts by four and Alan Lewis was a four-shot winner against Mike Penny.

Continuing their downward spiral are Cosham, slipping to a poor 30-shot defeat at Cowplain. For the hosts Peter Parry won by 13 against Dean Boswell, Graham King beat Mel Dunbar by nine and Brian Franklin was a seven-shot winner against Reg Pearce.

The only crumb of comfort for Cosham was the point for a tie against Ted Howard.

It is all change in division three as Gas Social enjoyed a 19-shot victory at Pembroke Gardens to take top spot.

Previous leaders Gosport had a surprise 28-shot defeat at Milton Park against Eastney.

Hayling Island had a profitable trip to Drayton Park where they took 14 of the 16 points on offer with a five-shot victory.

Topping the bill for Hayling was the John Davey-skipped rink, who enjoyed a 10-shot win against Brian Carrick.