Oughton switch works the oracle for Vospers

Terry Smith, centre, saw his rink crushed by that of Roland Bloy. Picture: Mick Young (112771-08)
Terry Smith, centre, saw his rink crushed by that of Roland Bloy. Picture: Mick Young (112771-08)
Portsdown won the Lavant invitational

Victory edged by eventual winners... Final defeat for duo

Have your say

Southsea Waverley claimed all rinks on their way to a 12-shot triumph over Priory in Portsmouth & District League division one.

Rowner, meanwhile, kept up the pressure with their own dominant 36-shot home win over College Park.

They were inspired by Graeme Coles’ 14-shot defeat of Steve Feilder.

Vospers also returned to winning ways – defeating Denmead by five shots at Northern Parade.

Len Oughton’s promotion to skip proved a masterstroke as his 18-shot win over Glyn Jones eclipsed Roland Bloy’s 16-shot defeat of Terry Smith.

In the other match in the division, Alex halted Fareham’s impressive run.

They won by 17 shots on home turf, with Carl Baggott’s 11-shot win over Charlie Bailey underpinning the success.

Fareham’s Mike Elliott tied with Alan Sprake.

In division two, Waterlooville celebrated a 33-shot win over Star & Crescent. Simon Filippi’s 15-shot win was little consolation for Star.

Lee-on-the-Solent went second as they picked up 15 points in a 39-shot home win over Eastney.

Cowplain fought out an 83-83 home draw with Leigh Park – earning seven points.

Elsewhere, Milton Park dented Gosport’s hopes of second with a five-shot win.

In the third tier, Water Co won again – this time by five shots at Pembroke Gardens.

They now need just 17 points to seal the title.

Hayling lost at home to Copnor by nine – but still have an 11-point cushion in second place.

In-form Bridgemary defeated Naismith by eight shots at Swordsands and – in the battle of the bottom two – Cosham ran out three-shot winners over Gas.

Kevin Bleach’s 22-shot win over Paul Wallen was not enough to stop Gas slipping to the foot of the table.

In division four, Post Office rocked Emsworth’s title hopes with a 100-73 away win – thanks largely to George Aylwin’s 25-shot win over Dave Leggett.

Purbrook beat Bedhampton by 10 and Forton sealed a double over Phoenix with a 24-shot win.

n Meanwhile, a clutch of bowlers reached the Hampshire finals at Atherley – following success in the eastern division.

Singles: M Hammond (Southsea Waverley); M Dubb (Fareham). Pairs: P Cooper & A Bloxham (Bridgemary); C Bailey & M Elliott (Fareham)

Triples: D Bishop, D Stephenson & D Quade (Fareham); T Hurst, D Bromley & M Dubb (Fareham). Fours: C Bailey, B Norton, P Cowe & M Elliott (Fareham); A Marchant, P Cooke, M Marchant & J Biggs (Southsea Waverley). Two-wood singles: D Bishop (Fareham); J Biggs (Southsea Waverley). Two-wood triples: B Starks, J Biggs & G Starks (Southsea Waverley). Club: Southsea Waverley