Waverley ace in frame for Commonwealth spot

Louis McCubbin
Louis McCubbin
Have your say

Louis McCubbin has been shortlisted for the Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa later this year.

The Southsea Waverley starlet is one of 13 players shortlisted by Bowls England for two spots – one boy, one girl – at the event from September 5-12.

The talents will compete in the singles events before teaming up in a mixed pairs competition.

McCubbin will continue his bid for selection at the final training weekend at Stoke Bowling Club in Warwickshire later this month.

Meanwhile, the second round of Portsmouth League matches beat the worst of the weather last week – although several games in Wednesday’s combination division were postponed or abandoned.

In division one, Southsea Waverley beat hosts Rowner by 34 shots.

Gary Starks’ 23-shot beating of John Bailey was backed up by wins for Paul Cooke and John Biggs.

Alexandra moved into second after their 30-shot win at Vospers.

Barry Harman, Dave Deacon and Marty Wake all claimed rink wins but Terry Smith prevented a whitewash with a thrilling draw against Carl Baggott.

Priory picked up 10 shots across the board on the final two ends to win by a single shot at Denmead.

Steve Watt and Nigel Mundy were on target for the winners.

Fareham lost by a single shot at Milton Park, who recovered from last week’s savaging at Waverley.

Mick Molloy’s 13-shot win was key to Milton’s triumph.

Waterlooville went down to a 38-shot defeat at the hands of College Park, who won on the rinks of Clive Carter, Steve Feilder and Paul Lawrence.

In division two, Portsmouth Water beat Copnor by 23 shots – thanks to a big win for Mick Edney’s rink.

Star & Crescent have also made a fine start to the season and they netted a five-shot win over Leigh Park.

Mel Wilde and Robbie Dennison were on top form.

Cowplain celebrated the first match on their new carpet with a 16-shot, all-rink win over Naismith as Graham King led the way.

Cosham Park beat hosts Gosport by nine – courtesy of Peter Crane’s 12-shot defeat of Jim Oswell.

Bedhampton beat Lee-on-the-Solent by one.