Waverley tighten grip on top-flight crown

Mary Portas (Photo credit John Wright)
Mary Portas (Photo credit John Wright)
Share this article
Gosport Forton Bowling CLub team members, back row, left to right:  Eric Meighan, Byron Lewis, Mick Lush,'Graham Sampson and Rob Williams'. Front Row, left to right: Steve Anderson, Brian Croucher (team captain'holding cup) and Malcolm Stimpson.

Another one for the trophy cabinet

Have your say

Waverley strengthened their bid for Portsmouth & District League division one title glory with victory over nearest rivals Fareham.

The top-of-the-table clash ended in a 24-shot triumph for the defending champions, leaving them sitting pretty at the halfway mark of the season.

Paul Cooke enjoyed an 11-shot win over Charlie Bailey, while John Biggs beat Dorian Bishop by 10.

Matt Marchant had a four-shot win over Tom Pullin, leaving Cyril Friend to net Fareham’s sole points with a slender one-shot victory against Mark Griffiths.

With College Park’s game called off due to the rearranged County Club game, Priory leapfrogged them into third spot with a 16-shot win at Gosport.

Priory won on the rinks of Arthur Newland, Nigel Mundy and Mike Elliott – with Dave Blackledge winning for Gosport.

That result means Gosport are now bottom of the table.

Alex moved into fourth spot after their 17-shot home win over Lee-on-the-Solent.

Alex won on three rinks, through Carl Baggott, Barry Harman and Geoff Anderson. Peter Gentry replied for Lee.

Vospers had a busy week. On Monday, they had a four-shot home win over Gosport, thanks to rink successes for Terry Smith and Marty Wake.

Gosport, meanwhile, scored with the rinks of Jim Oswell and Chris Hay.

Then, on Friday, Vospers went down to a two-shot defeat at Rowner.

Rowner’s win was thanks to Keith Gerrard’s 13-shot success over Wake, with Brian Stafford also winning.

Vospers’ successful rinks were those of Dave Harding and Smith.

In division two, leaders Denmead snatched victory from the jaws of defeat in a rearranged game against Cowplain.

Down by eight shots going into the last end, Denmead contrived to pick up nine shots across the board – therefore winning the game by one.

Roly Bloy and Paul Kennington took wins for Denmead – Ted Howard and Bryan Franklin scored for Cowplain.

Despite losing by five shots at Hayling, the four points Leigh Park claimed moved them into second spot.

Tom Walsh’s 16-shot win over Pete Robinson was matched by Leigh Park’s Roy Collins against Derek Surman.

Hayling’s win was thanks to Bob Randall’s eight-shot victory over Fred Miller – as Barry Dixon could only win by three against Dave Johns.

Portsmouth Water moved into third after their 43-shot win over Bridgemary.

Brent Riste’s rink were the stars with a 22-shot win.

In division three, Bedhampton beat Crofton by 71, thanks mainly to Ken Wills’ 41-shot success.

Cosham managed a two-shot home win over Purbrook. Roger Shergold and Peter Crane tasted glory, with Dennis Goode and Brian Carrick hitting back.

Emsworth had earlier claimed a 28-shot win at Phoenix and followed that up with a six-shot home victory over Pembroke Gardens. George Eaglestone and Terry Brewer were the stars.

There were strange goings on at the bottom of the table as Naismith’s surge in form was halted by Phoenix.

Phoenix’s five-shot win was thanks to Dave Blowe’s 19-shot success.

Meanwhile, after suffering some big defeats, Forton crushed Gas Social by 21.

n Hampshire carried on their good work in the Middleton Cup, with a 60-shot home win over Kent.

The rink skipped by Waverley’s Matt Marchant won 34-14.

In a delayed County Club clash, College Park got up on the last two ends to beat Denmead.

Alexandra play Priory, and Waverley tackle College in the divisional semi-finals next Thursday.