Cast your Sports Awards 2014 vote

James Vince is in the running for sportsman of the year. Picture: Dave Vokes/LMI Photography
James Vince is in the running for sportsman of the year. Picture: Dave Vokes/LMI Photography
Have your say

The short-lists have been compiled – now it’s your chance to decide who carries off the prizes at The News Sports Awards 2014.

We want you to honour our local sporting heroes by picking your favourites from the categories below.

You can also select your Pompey player of 2014 by clicking here.

Then all you have to do is cast your vote by text message.

The winners will be crowned at our ceremony at the Kings Theatre in Southsea on Thursday, February 12, 2015.

First up, though, we need you to get voting.

To vote by text, simply send the voting code next to each name (starting PENSA) to 65550.

It is important the whole six, seven or eight-character code should be included without any spaces or punctuation.

The closing date for votes is midnight on Friday, January 16, 2015.

Only one vote per text message. All text messages cost 50p plus standard network charge. Messages received after the closing date will not be counted but still may be charged. If more than one code is sent in a text only the first code will be counted. By supplying your telephone number you are happy to receive SMS/MMS messages from Johnston Press. Please add the word NOINFO at the end of your message if you do not wish to receive these. SMS service is provided by mGage Llc., SE1 8ND. Helpline: 02392667666 option 2. Normal Johnston Press terms and conditions apply which can be seen at Ref: PEN1452VOSA.


Sportsman of the year nominees...

PENSA1 – Ben Haines (taekwondo)

PENSA2 – Matt Marchant (bowls)

PENSA3 – James Vince (cricket)

PENSA4 – Andy Vernon (athletics)

PENSA5 – Sam Potts (judo)

PENSA6 – Dean Bowring (powerlifting)

PENSA7 – Will Baggott (strongman)

PENSA8 – Mark Shaw (judo)

PENSA9 – Scott Gregory (golf)

PENSA10 – Nick Harrison (sailing)

Sportswoman of the year nominees...

PENSA11 – Emma Montiel (athletics)

PENSA12 – Gemma Hillier (football)

PENSA13 – Mandy Gault (athletics)

PENSA14 – Sarah Hopkins (judo)

PENSA15 – Hayley Russell (tenpin bowling)

PENSA16 – Emma Bonney (billiards)

PENSA17 – Kelly Simm (gymnastics)

PENSA18 – Ebonie Jones (boxing)

PENSA19 – Marina Cornwall (powerlifting)

PENSA20 – Eilidh McIntyre (sailing)

Young sportsman of the year...

PENSA21 – Ben Bendle (boxing)

PENSA22 – Max Jones (real tennis)

PENSA23 – Alfie Cunningham (karate)

PENSA24 – Joe Lewis Back (gymnastics)

PENSA25 – Joe Truman (cycling)

PENSA26 – Oliver Jermy (swimming)

PENSA27 – Craig Tracey (tenpin bowling)

PENSA28 – Ahmed Adenas (boxing)

PENSA29 – Blu Baker (tennis)

PENSA30 – Joe Batley (rugby)

Young sportswoman of the year...

PENSA31 – Kelly Simm (gymnastics)

PENSA32 – Josie Czura (athletics)

PENSA33 – Katie Paxman (hockey)

PENSA34 – Ebonie Jones (boxing)

PENSA35 – Katie Byrne (swimming)

PENSA36 – Maisie Lloyd-Jones (gymnastics)

PENSA37 – Gemma Elliott (swimming)

PENSA38 – Devon Brimecome (athletics)

PENSA39 – Samantha Britton (swimming)

PENSA40 – Anna Reynolds (hockey)

Team of the year...

PENSA41 – Pompey Ladies (football)

PENSA42 – Hampshire (cricket)

PENSA43 – Gosport Borough (football)

PENSA44 – Southsea Waverley (bowls)

PENSA45 – City of Portsmouth (men’s athletics)

PENSA46 – MEON (netball)

PENSA47 – Petersfield Town (football)

PENSA48 – Portsmouth School of Gymnastics (gymnastics)

PENSA49 – Baffins Milton Rovers (football)

PENSA50 – Sarisbury Athletic (cricket)

Young team of the year...

PENSA51 – City of Portsmouth (girls’ athletics)

PENSA52 – Admiral Lord Nelson School (football)

PENSA53 – Fareham YBC (tenpin bowling)

PENSA54 – Jelly Babies (netball)

PENSA55 – Havant under-14s (hockey)

PENSA56 – Gosport BMX Club (bmx)

PENSA57 – Portsmouth School of Gymnastics (gymnastics)

PENSA58 – Max Jones & William Flynn (real tennis)

PENSA59 – Portsmouth Victoria (synchro swimming)

PENSA60 – Gosport & Fareham under-15s (football)

Outstanding contribution to disabled sport...

PENSA61 – Callum Palmer (wheelchair basketball)

PENSA62 – Lauren Steadman (trathlon)

PENSA63 – Olivia Breen (athletics)

PENSA64 – Eden Rainbow-Cooper (athletics)

PENSA65 – Matt Page (cricket)

PENSA66 – Finnley Kenny (athletics)

PENSA67 – Cecilia Turk (boccia)

PENSA68 – Bronwin Carter (athletics coach)

PENSA69 – Richard Osborne (volleyball coach)

PENSA70 – Arthur Morley (swimmer)

Outstanding contribution to sport...

PENSA71 – Brian Hughes (football)

PENSA72 – Barbara Dimmer (gymnastics)

PENSA73 – Debbie Laycock (netball)

PENSA74 – Grant Morris (rugby)

PENSA75 – Rob Piggott (athletics)

PENSA76 – Justin Bennett (football)

PENSA77 – Bob Brady (football)

PENSA78 – John Norton (football)

PENSA79 – Steve Cruddas (rugby)

PENSA80 – Phil Ashwell (football)

One-off performance...

PENSA81 – Pascal Richard (snooker)

PENSA82 – Andy Vernon (athletics)

PENSA83 – Scott Gregory (golf)

PENSA84 – Rachel Clay (triathlon)

PENSA85 – Matt Marchant (bowls)

PENSA86 – Ben Haines (taekwondo)

PENSA87 – Freddy Wood (sailing)

PENSA88 – Hayley Russell (tenpin bowling)

PENSA89 – Annaleise Vokes (tenpin bowling)

PENSA90 – Hema Gaur-Sharma (gymnastics)

Coach of the year...

PENSA91 – Suzy Walker (athletics)

PENSA92 – Alex Pike (football)

PENSA93 – Lindsay Allison (netball)

PENSA94 – Perry Northeast (football)

PENSA95 – Dale Benkenstein (cricket)

PENSA96 – Ian Saunders (football)

PENSA97 – Lee Newport (football)

PENSA98 – Richard Osborne (volleyball)

PENSA99 – Dan Jones (real tennis)

PENSA100 – Tim Vail (squash)