Compton’s men avoid the drop

Lee Eden
Lee Eden
Charlton boss Karl Robinson

Pompey fans get behind Jackett after Robinson hits back

Have your say

Copnor A escaped relegation by the skin of their teeth in the final round of Portsmouth League matches.

Scott Compton’s men lost 4-3 at Portchester X and it could have been a lot worse if their luck had changed in two tight games.

Jon Sunderland nicked a 150-143 win against Charlie Cripps and the skipper squeezed through by three points against the luckless Andy Macey early on.

Neil Turp gave the in-form Steve Toms a hammering by 96, however, he did get a start of 85 on home soil which is a great advantage.

Mark Kingswell gave Kevin Harding a 150-85 lesson to level the scores at two apiece.

Matt James beat Mick Hall, then the consistent Lee Eden retrieved the situation at the expense of Ashley Bendall.

But the Castle Street boys had the bonus point.

Craneswater R’s top-flight stay was short after losing 5-2 at Cowplain Gas.

Steve Hughes was a pain in their side, running out with a break of 61 to overhaul Andy Carter in the first game to set the tone.

Brian Garside hit back against Mark Tillison, then the home side took a 3-1 lead with scores by Heath Smith and Carl Fuggle.

The latter scraped a 150-143 win against Gary More.

Harry Yard cut the lead but it was soon restored by Mike Scott who trounced Andy White by 115 points.

Andy Boulton also registered a 61 as champions Craneswater A enjoyed a 5-2 triumph over Leigh Park.

Rob Kirby was on target to put the home side in charge at 2-0.

The middle pairings were a different story as Neville Moyle and Pete Ferguson evened it up at 2-2.

Ferguson beat son Pedro in a close encounter.

The last games went to the Southsea men as Steve Cole and Mike Talmondt wrapped it up.

Steve Kearn was on song in Copnor C’s 4-3 verdict over the Copnor B team.

The former champion ran in breaks of 51 and 41 but still lost to John Oldfield in the end.

John Wyatt and Norman Bradfield also won for the B side to keep them in the match.

However, the extra point was already lost after massive wins by Steve Baldacchino and Phil Ledington, who made Den Hushley and John Shervell struggle.

The new winter snooker season starts on September 16.