Copnor fail to build on Compton heroics

Copnor A skipper Scott Compton. Picture: Paul Jacobs (123835-2)
Copnor A skipper Scott Compton. Picture: Paul Jacobs (123835-2)
The Pompey players celebrated at the final whistle Picture: Joe Pepler

Charlton 0-1 Pompey: they said what?

Have your say

Scott Compton could not prevent Copnor A sliding to defeat at the hands of Leigh Park in Portsmouth & District League division one.

The returning skipper notched breaks of 51, 50 and 39 in his triumph over Barry Zee.

But Copnor A slid to a 4-3 defeat overall, with wins from Neville Moyle, Pete Ferguson and Ricky Burnett sealing the bonus point.

Steve Morgan and Ant Lacey were also on target.

Portchester X crushed neighbours Al’s Club 5-2.

Jason Tame set the trend with a 100-point win over Matt Hannam.

Matt James and Dom Campion replied, before Darren Inch, Andy Macey and Lee Gaylor settled the nerves to take the gang seven clear before their starts are adjusted.

Steve Baldacchino, Phil Leadington, Dave Lawrence and Barry Mitchell provided a 5-2 win for Copnor C over Copnor B.

Craneswater A won 5-2 at Cowplain Gas.

Heath Smith (31) and Mark Tillison were the pick of the home side but Colin Rowe, Pedro Ferguson, Andy Boulton and skipper Tony Hansford (32) were too good.

It looks a matter of time before Craneswater Z hit the front in division two.

They thrashed leaders Topspot 6-1 as Colin Johnson pocketed the consolation.

Mark Jones, Simon Petrie and Jim Frisbee were outstanding, alongside wins by Jason Taylor and captain Ian Carter.

Copnor Xcels are bottom after their whitewash at the hands of Copnor F.

Darren Harper, Dave Ellis, George Garrett, Alan Wakefield and the Derrys all had a field day in their best-ever win.

Craneswater R are in contention despite a narrow 4-3 defeat over Cowplain.

Harry Yard and Chris Davies kept the Southsea clan in it before Gary Moore made sure of the extra point.

Carlton remained second after a 5-2 win at Pompey Royals.

Alan Pratt, Mel Davis and Jeff Oakes countered after a slow start – before Gary Marshall cruised past Paul Tinsley to seal the win.

Regarding the best breaks, the committee are looking to fill the awards for handicaps between 74 and 35. It must be 30 or more.