Craneswater Z big guns can’t stop R team

Nigel Ward
Nigel Ward
Have your say

Craneswater Z fielded their big guns but failed to halt the charge of their club-mates in the Portsmouth & District Billiards League.

The Southsea club’s R side, led by John Peers, dug in for a 4-3 aggregate victory in a close-run affair.

Peers, Chris Davies and Gary More grabbed the bonus point by 780-776 to stay eight points ahead of the field.

The Z team have some gifted players but only Jim Frisbee, Jason Taylor and Nigel Ward made any impression.

The latter was outstanding, running in 80 points in two visits.

Ladies’ world champion Emma Bonney hit a 53 before More got through 150-118.

Carlton failed to perform at their Hillside base and Cowplain cruised to a 5-2 victory.

Rory Pitman and James Curtis were the best victors, with Will Garrett and Gary Curtis also doing well.

Gary Marshall pulled through on the strength of a 44 and there was a win for Jeff Oakes.

Copnor Xcels were thumped 6-1 by Pompey Royals.

Paul Tinsley, Tony Harten and JohnWilson all enjoyed themselves for the Royals.

Dave Wheeler prevented a whitewash against Jason Orchard.

Topspot were champs last year but it’s a different story this term.

They are just one place off the bottom after a 5-2 defeat to Copnor F.

Steve McNight and Steve Wilson stopped an even more emphatic hiding.

Darren Harper, Rob Derry, Alan Wakefield and George Garrett all played well.

Copnor C made ground in the top flight with an emphatic 6-1 win over Leigh Park.

Steve Kearn showed class with a 61 break and Tony Simmons was also on song.

Steve Lawrence and son Dave were also on target against the five-man Workies before Richie Burnett Jnr stopped the rot.

Cowplain Gas enjoyed the rub of the green against top-of-the-table Portchester X.

Mick Mo pipped Jason Tame by 10 and Terry Lees nicked a three-point win against Darren Inch.

Neil and Karl Turp rallied the Castle Street outfit before Karl Fuggle and Steve Hughes took the score to 4-2.

Al’s Club started well against Copnor B, going 2-0 in front as Mark Kingswell and Matt Hannam saw off Den Hushley and Peter Root.

The golden oldies turned things around as Norman Bradfield, John Wyatt and John Oldfield chalked up easy wins.

The aggregate point was safely in Copnor’s hands.

It was just as well as John Shervell was beaten by Dom Campion by nearly 100 points to keep the score down to 4-3.

The Presidents Cup has reached the final stage.

Copnor C have won it for the past two years and they thumped Craneswater Z to book their place in the final on July 29.

They will face Craneswater A, who beat Carlton with a comfortable 868-628 scoreline.

Steve Toms, Tony Hansford and Andy Boulton cruised through while only Alan Munday resisted.