Chambers leads dominant Fareham Wheelers

Gary Chambers on his way to victory. Picture: Allan Hutchings (160408-280)
Gary Chambers on his way to victory. Picture: Allan Hutchings (160408-280)
Have your say

FAREHAM WHEELERS enjoyed home success in their 10-mile Spring TT race.

Gary Chambers took the victory as he led a club one, two, three.

Caitlin Peters of i-Team. Picture: Allan Hutchings (160408-291)

Caitlin Peters of i-Team. Picture: Allan Hutchings (160408-291)

He won with a new course record time of 21.29.

James Copeland finished second (21.43) and Paul Ashley was third (22.08) ensuring the hosts took the team prize as well.

All the top three riders beat the previous course record as they turned on the style.

In the vets on Std competition Paul Jackson (Team Bottrill) won it and finished fourth overall (22.22).

Izzy Brickell. Picture: Allan Hutchings (160408-207)

Izzy Brickell. Picture: Allan Hutchings (160408-207)

Paul Ashley finished second and third was Sarah Matthews.

The course was in good condition but it’s a challenging one with a mile and a quarter climb up Portsdown hill in the middle.

In the female competition the overall winner was Karina Bowie (Team Bottrill).

In the road bike category the winner was Sebastian Ader (...A3CRG) who finished the race in a time of 23.38.

Simon Healey (Andover Whs), Darryl Rice (South Down Bikes) and Neil Mackley (FWCC) made up the top four.

Healey finished in 24.45, Rice clocked a time of 24.53, and Mackley recorded 25.10.

Fareham Wheelers are committed to promoting the road bike competition in order to make the sport more accessible to those who cannot afford the exotic TT equipment.

The female road bike competition honours went to Fareham Wheelers rider Kirsty Mcseveney (29.49), with debutant Abbie Manley, who rides for Solent Pirates, second (30.53).

In the under-18 category, James Brickell and Vaughan Marris were first and second with times of 23.30 and 23.59 respectively.

If Brickell had chosen to use one of the club’s disc wheels he would have certainly been in the top five.

The under-18 girls’ category was won by Caitlin Peters (i-Team) and she was also third female overall, her time was 26.23.

Second was Abbie Manley (Solent Pirates).

Third was another FWCC rising star, Izzy Brickell, with a time of 32.05.

There were 57 who started out of the original list of 64 on a bright dry afternoon with light southerly winds.

This year’s event was supported by South Downs Bikes who donated a Specialized helmet to the winner.