Arms come back from the brink

Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Newcome Arms B were on the brink of losing their unbeaten record in division C but came back from 4-0 down to beat Pembroke Arms 5-4.

Martin Downs, Edward Cook, Steve Brett and James Iles put Pembroke on the brink of victory but Bill Tipler, Steve Wood, Chris Wallis, Anthony Quintavalle and Gary Tobitt battled back to give Newcome the win.

Raven stay level on points with division D’s second-placed sides – and behind leaders Lord Chichester B – after dispatching Rose in June A 5-4.

Jim Dugan started Rose off in winning ways but Paul Marsh and Jerry Goddard soon had Raven in front.

Rose restored parity through Chris Pratt before Glenn Bremner and Ken O’Hara moved Raven 4-2 up.

Robert Ford and Ian Burt chalked up wins to keep Rose in the match but it was to no avail as Bob Steel won the decider for Raven.

Portland moved up to third in division E after overcoming Royal Standard 7-2.

Lee Dagnell opened proceedings for Royal but Portland wasted no further time in winning the match as Hamish Fowlie, Keith Mayne, Liam O’Driscoll, Alan Wilton, Joe Sweetman and Frankie Tomley were all on the mark.

A walkover for Ben Watson gave Portland their seventh leg and Jon Bird took a late consolation for Royal.

Newcome Arms A triumphed 6-3 over Phoenix North End B.

Newcome’s Del Thomson took the first set and team-mate Frankie Howard threw a 14-dart leg as he doubled their advantage.

Dan Eade recorded a 16-darter and 180 in pulling a set back for Phoenix but they were soon 4-1 down as Steve Filby and Adam Lipscombe struck for Newcome.

Jamie Stewart kept Phoenix in the match before Martin Stead had an 18-dart leg as he bagged the points for Newcome.

Phoenix’s Lee Smith made the scoreline more respectable, leaving Newcome’s Dean Jones to round things off with a 16-darter.

Nell Gwynne moved out of division B’s bottom two as they enjoyed a 5-4 victory over Artillery Arms A.

Gwynne took a 3-1 lead with Jon Davison, William Thompson and Matt Lock notching wins, while only Roy Morran could muster any early resistance from Artillery. Austin Main reduced Artillery’s deficit to one as he threw a 17-dart leg and 180, but Gywnne hit back with a 17-darter of their own from Phil Jarvie.

Artillery squared the match courtesy of Steve Woodage and Philip Johnson but it was Gwynne’s Michael Chandler who won the decider.

James Brooker (Admiral Drake B) threw 14 and 16-dart legs and a 111 game-shot, while team-mate Jon Bramble had a 15-darter and 125 finish.

Steve Houghton (Jolly Taxpayer A) registered a 15-dart leg and 116 check-out and Andy Newcombe (Jolly Taxpayer C) had a 16-dart effort and scored 180.

Ian Pearce (Rose in June B) finished a leg in 17 darts, while Bill Sturgess (Admiral Drake B) and Vic Smith (Mr Pickwick) both had 18-darters, with Smith also finishing on 152.

Richard Linford (Admiral Drake A) had a 110 game-shot, and Richard Morey (Battle of Minden B) and Paul Emeney (Stag A) checked out on 104 and 100 respectively.

Barry Stevens (Admiral Drake B), David Gough (Jolly Taxpayer B) and Dave Paul (Old House at Home B) all fired in maximums and Richard Beech (Mr Pickwick) scored 174.