Arms show strength to press promotion claims

08/05/14  ''The mixed pairs finals night held at The Rose In June public house in Milton. Jon Bramble.'Picture: Ian Hargreaves (141345-5)
08/05/14 ''The mixed pairs finals night held at The Rose In June public house in Milton. Jon Bramble.'Picture: Ian Hargreaves (141345-5)
Have your say

Graham Arms B moved within two points of top spot in Portsmouth Men’s Winter League division B with a 5-4 triumph over Harvest Home.

Bill Thompson and Simon Blake gave Graham a 2-0 advantage in the showdown.

But Harvest hit back with Graeme Cooper and Craig Bridgewater restoring parity.

Martyn Travis then put Graham ahead again before Phillip Freeston made it 3-3.

Arms then sealed victory with Dave Barker and Terry Griffiths giving them an insurmountable lead before Phil Mercer took a late consolation for Harvest.

Raven moved up to second in division C as they recorded an impressive 7-2 success against Admiral Drake A.

Raven wasted no time in bagging the points as Ken O’Hara, John Garnett, Dave Marshall, Lee Simmons and James Baseden put them 5-0 up.

Richard Linford won for Drake to prevent a whitewashing before Scott Lees and Glenn Bremner further extended Raven’s lead.

Brian Attfield took the last leg to add a second for Drake.

Baffins emerged as 6-3 victors over Fawcett Inn in division D.

Vic Wain, Keith Farbrace and Dale Stockdale all moved Baffins ahead.

But each time Fawcett immediately pulled level with Adam Dungworth, Tomm Morley and Jon Morley on the mark respectively.

However, it was one-way traffic from there on with Andy Ellis, Fred Fuggle and Ian Bates taking the remaining ties for Baffins.

Rose in June A cemented their position in division E’s promotion places with a superb 6-3 victory over Jolly Taxpayer A.

Mark Ford, Rob Ford, Dave Lennox and James Dugan propelled Rose into a 4-0 lead before Steve Houghton snatched a Taxpayer win to keep them in the match.

However, it was a short reprieve as Ian Saynor took a decisive win in the next leg.

Robert Houghton and Ben Stone won consolation legs for Taxpayer before Rose’s Ian McClaren was awarded the last tie as a walkover.

Artillery Arms remained in division A’s bottom two after going down 6-3 to Mr Pickwick A.

Artillery started well with a win from Roy Morran.

But Pickwick were soon in charge as Malcolm Ogden, Phil Rudder, Allan Lloyd and Vic Smith all took sets – with Ogden notching an 18-dart leg and Smith finishing on 122.

Derek Manchip and Austin Main reduced Artillery’s deficit to a single leg.

But that was all they could muster with Pickwick’s Aaron Wood and Neil Hewson taking the last two bouts.

Danny Smith (Admiral Drake B) recorded 14 and 15-dart legs along with a 116 finish for Admiral Drake B.

Meanwhile, Jason Crawley (Phoenix North End B), Chris Jafkins (Mr Pickwick B) and James Brooker (Admiral Drake B) all threw 15-darters – with Crawley scoring two 180s and Brooker checking out on 105.

Adam Lipscombe (Admiral Drake B), Lee Smith (Phoenix North End B), Lee O’Donovan (Mr Pickwick B), Del Thomson (Newcome Arms A) and Ray Williams (Lord Chichester A) all had 18-dart efforts, with Smith and Thomson scoring 180s.

Jon Bramble (Admiral Drake B) and Stephen Wain (Stag A) checked out on 101 and 100 respectively and Barry Stevens (Admiral Drake B) fired in a maximum.