Baffins battle back to keep cup dream alive

Darren Barnes. Picture: Ian Hargreaves (141070-14)
Darren Barnes. Picture: Ian Hargreaves (141070-14)
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Baffins had to come from behind three times before they beat Druids Arms B to book their place in the Denise Neale Challenge Cup second round.

Eric Bevan, Richard Horrell and Philip Ponsford all put the division E outfit a leg in front.

But each time they got a lead, division D side Baffins hit back as Vic Wain, Brian Breadner and then Ian Bates were on the mark.

Baffins then took the next two legs to win the match courtesy of Fred Fuggle and Michael Chandler, before Ricky Underdown claimed the last leg as a consolation for Druids.

Froddington Arms survived a strong fightback from fellow division F outfit Stag B before dispatching them 5-4.

Alister Perkins, Liam Emery, Louis Arnell and Dave Lock gave Froddington a 4-0 lead.

But Stag battled back with Mark Barnes, Steve Clarke, Robert Tomkins and Mick Jukes notching legs to force a decider.

Daniel Browne took the final tie to win the match for Froddington.

Top-flight Jolly Taxpayer C won a thrilling derby with Jolly Taxpayer A, of division B, 5-4.

Gary Madden and Andy Newcombe, who threw an 18-dart leg, gave the C team a 2-1 lead with legs either side of Robert Houghton.

The A side then took command through Eamonn Leightley and Steve Houghton but Steve Ockendon won for Taxpayer C to restore parity.

Michael Bedford won the seventh clash to put Taxpayer A on the brink of victory but Derek Banks and Neil Banks took the remaining legs to move them into the next round.

Newcome Arms A were in fine form as they beat Old House at Home A 8-1 with 17-dart legs from Kevin Gilchrist and Darren Barnes and a 180 by John Richmond.