Baffins continue their fine form

Ricky Williams
Ricky Williams
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

baffins maintained their perfect record in division D as they beat Froddington Arms C 6-3.

Dale Stockwell and Ian Bates notched wins for the confident title-chasers after Mick Pearce had put them behind.

Dave Lock restored parity for Froddington only for Ian McNiven and Colin Hunt to move Baffins within a leg of victory.

Froddington reduced their deficit to just one leg with a win from Mark Donnelly.

But Baffins took the match as Fred Fuggle and Vic Wain won the remaining ties.

Rose in June A fell off the pace in the race at the top of division E as they went down 5-4 to Portland Arms.

James Dugan gave Rose the initial lead but Portland then claimed five on the trot through Julian Wheelan, Shaun Morris, Joe Sweetman, Liam O’Driscoll and Allen Wilton.

Rose took the remaining legs as consolations, including wins from Lewis Draper and Robert Ford.

Admiral Drake B beat Mr Pickwick 7-2 in division A.

Pickwick started well with a set from John Madison but were soon behind as Gareth Evans and Danny Smith chalked up wins.

Sam Head fired in a 13-dart leg for Drake in the fourth set, though he went down to Pickwick’s Mason Riou.

Drake’s Steve Musson, Rob Newland, James Brooker, Ricky Williams and Barry Stevens were all on the mark, with Williams throwing an 18-darter.

Jolly Taxpayer B leapfrogged Harvest Home in division B as they beat them 6-3.

Taxpayer took a 2-1 lead courtesy of David Clarke and Anton Lewis after John Hansford put them behind.

Sam Palmer threw a 16-dart leg to pull Harvest level but it was to no avail as Matt Bailey, Colin Prout and David Gough won the next three legs to give Taxpayer the match.

Cliff Hart took a consolation for Harvest before Kevin Green added Taxpayer’s sixth.

Raven B were a player short as they lost 5-4 to Pelham Arms A in division C.

Jerry Goddard, Lee Simmons and Glenn Bremner all put Raven one leg ahead but each time they were pegged back with Paul Wain, Mick Sheppard and Paul Slingsby firing for Pelham.

Paul Marsh moved Raven 4-3 up but Pelham were awarded a walkover for Alan Poulton before Wes Farminer won them the decider.

Lee O’Donovan (Froddington Arms C) hit a maximum 170 finish as part of an 18-dart leg, while Andy Walker (Jolly Taxpayer C) checked-out on 146 and Dave Robinson (Newcome Arms A) and Steve Humby (Jolly Taxpayer C) hit 110 and 106 game-shots respectively.

Vince Aston (Phoenix North End B) and Kevin Mills (Jolly Taxpayer C) both threw 13-dart legs with Mills scoring 180.

Paul Gibbs (Newcome Arms A) and Stuart Benfield (Mermaid) recorded 17-darters and Andy Newcombe (Jolly Taxpayer C) registered an 18-dart effort.

Rob White (Jolly Taxpayer C) and Ian Usher (Artillery Arms) both scored 180s.