Baffins fire up survival bid with win against Dragons

Ian Bates did well for Baffins
Ian Bates did well for Baffins
Have your say

Baffins hauled themselves out of the bottom three in Portsmouth Men’s Summer League division three with a 6-3 triumph over George & Dragon.

Dale Stockwell opened up the match with a win for Baffins before Robbie Brooks and Philip North moved George in front.

Baffins restored parity thanks to Mick Chandler.

But Shane Plummer edged George back into the lead.

However, it was one-way traffic from there on as Keith Farbrace, Fred Fuggle, Piers Howorth and Ian Bates swept Baffins to victory

Thatchers bagged their first points of the season in division D as they crushed Barley Mow 7-2.

Thatchers wasted no time in securing victory with Nick Wild, Chris Lawrence, Simon Edgar, Mark North and Raymond Houlihan putting them 5-0 up.

Mow’s Rae Lawson and Ben Lawrence prevented a whitewashing before Gary Ramshead and Daniel Paddon completed a convincing win for Thatchers.

Stag B dropped to third after suffering their first defeat of the season, going down 5-4 to Fawcett Inn.

Anthony Goodeve and Adam Dungworth both gave Fawcett an early lead but each time Stag hit straight back to cancel it out with Mark Barnes and Dion Jukes on the mark respectively.

Stag took the lead for the first time as Gary Dean won a leg before Fawcett’s John Morley made it 3-3.

Mark Cunningham put Stag on the brink of victory only for Tom Morley and Josh Olden to win the last two clashes and take the match for Fawcett.

Admiral Drake B emerged victorious, beating Lord Chichester A 8-1, as top met bottom in division A.

Barry Stevens and Gary Collis got Drake off to a good start before Pat Reed hit an 18-dart leg for Chichester.

Drake then pushed on with Bill Sturgess, Danny Smith, with 15 and 18-dart legs, Jon Bramble, Charlie Jackson, with a 15-darter and 180, Lester Miles and Sam Head sealing their victory.

Division B leaders Lord Chichester B lost 5-4 at Star & Garter.

Jolly Taxpayer B saw off Graham Arms B 5-4, while Old House at Home A beat Newcome Arms B 5-4.

Dean Jones (Newcome Arms A) threw a 15-dart leg and Ken Dean (Old House at Home B) finished a game in 16 darts.

Kevin Gilchrist, Darren Barnes (both Newcome Arms A), Colin McKean (Old House at Home B), Chris Harradine, Ian Pearce (both Rose in June B), Liam Jafkins, Barry Gibson, Shaun O’Donovan (all Mr Pickwick B) and Malcolm Smith (Oyster House B) all registered 18-darters.

McKean and Harradine added 180s and Smith fired a 111 finish.

Mick Byrne (Electric Arms) checked out on 100.

His team-mate Peter Pitt fired in a maximum.