Barnes has a stormer to win Portsmouth Summer individual title

Darren Barnes
Darren Barnes
Have your say

Newcome Arms A’s Darren Barnes claimed the Portsmouth Men’s Summer League individual knockout crown with a 3-2 final triumph over Sam Head, of Admiral Drake B.

Head opened the final with a 17-dart leg but Barnes took the next two to go 2-1 up.

An 18-darter from Head made it 2-2, before Barnes won the decisive leg to take the title.

Barnes had previously beaten Drake’s Danny Smith 2-1 in the semi-finals and Lee Smith, of Phoenix North End B, in the last eight.

Head knocked out Charlie Jackson and Lester Miles.

Newcome Arms A’s Frankie Howard and Jolly Taxpayer C’s Anthony Quintavalle both reached the quarter-finals.

Meanwhile in the Portsmouth Men’s Summer League, Druids Arms A kept the pressure on division C’s leaders with a 5-4 victory over Raven.

John Garnett, Scott Lees, Ken O’Hara and James Baseden (111 game shot) all won for Raven.

Reg Wilshaw, Brett Smith, Darren Maplesden, Keith Horn and Neil Hallett ensured Druids got the win.

Harvest Home won a deciding leg to edge out Phoenix Southsea 5-4 in division D.

John Lloyd, Pete Hickman, Rob Pithers and Dave Tait recorded wins for Phoenix.

But the points were won by Phil Mercer, Steve Leigh, David Place Jnr, John Major and David Place Snr for Harvest.

Rose in June B moved up to fourth in division A after enjoying a 6-3 triumph over Lord Chichester A.

Paul Stanley, Phil Stringer and Pete Curtis struck for Chichester.

Ian Pearce (17-dart leg), Shane Williams, Michael Neat, Neil Sheppard (177 score), Andy Collins and Chris Harradine got wins for Rose.

Lord Chichester B maintained their good form at the top of division B as they recorded a 5-4 win against Duke of Devonshire.

John Madgwick Snr, Steve Ketchen, Lee Wade, Mike Feaver and Dean Charman recorded wins for Lord Chichester B.

Danny Smith (Admiral Drake B) threw 14 and 16-dart legs including a 180 while Lee Smith (Phoenix North End B) also notched a 14-darter.

Michael Chandler (Eldon Arms), Chris Jafkins and Lee O’Donovan (both Mr Pickwick B) all had 16-dart efforts, with O’Donovan scoring 180.

Charlie Jackson (Admiral Drake B) hit a pair of 17-darters with Sam Head (Admiral Drake B) and Colin Prout (Stag A) also finishing legs in 17 darts.

Darren Barnes (Newcome Arms A) registered two 18-darters and Lee Cook (Phoenix North End B), Charlie Dunn (Mr Pickwick B), Del Thomson, Kevin Gilchrist, Dean Jones (all Newcome Arms A), Mark Donnelly and Alan Graf snr (both Froddington Arms) all recorded 18-dart legs with Thomson scoring 174 and Donnelly checking out on 132.

Paul Wain (Shearer Arms) finished on 103 and Robert Jamieson (Graham Arms B), Derek Manchip (Artillery Arms), Barry Stevens (Admiral Drake B) and Ray Marsh (Druids Arms A) all fired in maximums.

Any new teams wanting to join the Portsmouth Men’s Darts League should contact Ron Neale for more information on (023) 9283 8434 or 07795 380393.