Benfield holds nerve as Mermaid sink Baffins

Dean Jones. Picture: Ian Hargreaves
Dean Jones. Picture: Ian Hargreaves
Share this article
Have your say

Stuart Benfield stepped up to win the decider for Mermaid as they beat battling Baffins 5-4 in Portsmouth Men’s Winter League division D.

The opener went to Ian Bates as he got Baffins off the mark.

Gary Hornby, Kelvin Fletcher and Richard Platt then put Mermaid in command.

Bruce Duff got the second for Baffins but they were soon 4-2 down as Ray Passfield fired Mermaid within one shot of victory.

Keith Farbrace and Michael Chandler ensured the match went to a decider as they both won for Baffins.

But Benfield was then on the mark to seal Mermaid’s victory.

In division E, Connaught Arms beat Thatchers 5-4.

Raymond Houlihan and Simon Edgar put Thatchers 2-0 up.

Luke Smith, Gael Evans, Sam Brown and Steve Colwell took four on the trot for Arms.

Mark North got one back for Thatchers but Terry Brown was ice cool under pressure as he finished the job for Connaught.

Daniel Paddon was left to take the last as a consolation for Thatchers.

The Tap B won 5-4 against Graham Arms A in division B.

Les Phipps, Richard Bithell, Andy Phipps, Michael McKnight and Jason Jeal were all on the mark for The Tap.

Mark Mihell, Martin Simmons, Allen Watson and John O’Donnell replied for Arms.

In division C, Raven swooped for a 5-4 win against Newcome Arms B.

Paul Marsh won the deciding leg for Raven, with the two teams level at 4-4.

James Basenden, Ken O’Hara, John Garnett and Lee Simmons also grabbed wins for Raven but Newcome responded with Daniel Graf, Gary Tobitt, Bill Tipler and Tony Price all on the mark.

In division A, Old House at Home B beat The Stag A 5-4.

Peter Scott and Joe Bridle put Stag 2-0 up, however they soon fell behind.

Shaun O’Brian, Brian Colenutt and Ken Dean made it 3-2 to Old House at Home.

Mark Smith squared things up but Old House shut the door on their rivals with wins from Colin McKean and Dave Paul.

Mick Neilson took the final clash for Stag.

It was celebration time for Artillery Arms as they picked up their first win of the season with a 5-4 success against Lord Chichester A.

Roy Morran hit a 180 for Arms to help them secure the victory. Bob Ketchen’s 108 game-shot was in vain for Lord Chichester.

Newcome A’s Dean Jones also hit a 180, as well as securing a 13-dart leg. His club-mate Darren Barnes finished a leg in 18 darts.

Admiral Drake B’s Barry Stevens hit a 20-dart leg, while Adam Lipscombe fired a 17-dart leg and Danny Smith got two 16-dart legs. Rob Newland recorded a 20-dart leg.

Jolly Taxpayer C trio Andy Newcombe, Steve Ockdon and Rob White completed 18-darters.

Lee Smith finished a leg in 15 darts for Phoenix B.

Shane Williams recorded a 17-darter for Rose in June B.

Pembroke’s Richard Gabbini fired a 180 in division D and Phil King recorded an 18-dart leg for Star & Garter in division C.