Brenda leaves rivals in Dyer trouble

editorial image
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Brenda Dyer won the Portsmouth Darts Series’ first all-ladies competition as she took the inaugural Girlz ‘N’ Glory title.

Dyer secured victory with a 5-2 triumph over Jane Monaghan in the final, having previously enjoyed 4-0 wins over Katie Falla and Felicia Blay in the semi and quarter-finals respectively.

Monaghan beat Dawn Simmonds 4-2 in her quarter-final before beating Bridget McGuire 4-3 in the semis.

Mell Harby and Anita Harper-Stirling both reached the last eight.

Meanwhile, Andy Jenkins secured his spot as third seed for the Portsmouth Grand Prix grand final as he won the last of the qualifiers, beating Danny Smith 6-5 in the final.

Jenkins had previously whitewashed Robbie Norster 4-0 in the quarter-finals before overcoming Gary Smith 5-1 in the next round.

Smith won his semi-final against Danny Pinhorne 5-2 having beat Adam Lipscombe 4-1 in the last eight.

Chris Skinner won the plate competition, beating Ryan Groves in the final.

Jenkins fired in four maximums along with 13, 14 and 15-dart legs.

Pinhorne went one better, registering 12, 13, 14 and 15-darters and finishes of 122 and 101.

Martyn Pegram threw a 13-dart effort.

Paul Gibbs had a 14-darter and a pair of 15-dart legs and Bob Crawley and Martin Stead finished games in 14 darts.

Danny Smith, Lipscombe, Norster and Gary Smith threw 15-dart legs.

Den Smith checked-out on 164 while Aaron Wood (116), Justin Bradshaw (112), Pegram (110) and Norster (103 and 100) also finished well.