Brewers have too much ammunition for Artillery

Neil Hewson played his part for Brewers Arms
Neil Hewson played his part for Brewers Arms
Lee Cook of Phoenix North End B

Duke on the money as Taxpayer crash again

Have your say

Brewers Arms opened up a two-point lead at the top of division B as they beat Artillery Arms 7-2.

The table-toppers wasted no time in securing victory as Richard Beech, Richard Furniss, David Kattenhorn, Vic Smith, Chris Wilson, Paul Easterbrook and Neil Hewson propelled them into a 7-0 lead, with Smith throwing an 18-dart leg.

Artillery made the scoreline more respectable, with Paul Goble and John Cooper winning the remaining legs.

Jolly Taxpayer B moved out of division C’s relegation zone with a 7-2 win over Star & Garter.

Ted Andrews, Anthony Turner, David Gough and David Clarke put Taxpayer within one leg of victory.

Dave King kept Star in the match but Kev Green took the sixth leg for Taxpayer.

Cliff Hart added a second leg for Star before R Andrews took Taxpayer’s sixth and the final leg went to D Bennett.

Alma Arms gained vital points in division D as they overcame fellow relegation candidates Meon Valley 5-4.

Martin Levy opened proceedings for Alma but Mark Walsh restored parity for Meon.

However, Ken Simmons, Jamie Simmons, Paul Simmons and T O’Neill guaranteed Alma the points.

James Smith, Tarron Wars and Richard Bryant struck consolations for Meon.

Battle of Minden A beat Admiral Drake A 5-4 in division E.

Minden took a 3-1 lead through Tommy Udy, Pete Davey and David Johnson jnr, while only C Gooch hit back.

Drake recovered to take a 4-3 lead as Allen Davis, Chris Spratt and Richard Linford were all on the mark.

Colin Pedelty and Jack Page then won it for Minden.

Jolly Taxpayer C had to come from behind to secure a 6-3 win against Tangiers C.

Andy Walker drew first blood for Taxpayer but 26-dart legs of 701 from Jim Snook and Roy Sands, either side of Peter Scott’s 108 finish, put Tangiers in front.

However, Glyn Evans was awarded a walkover before wins from Jeff Kimber and Dave Robinson put Taxpayer back in front.

A second walkover for K White and a win from Jim Mortimer secured victory for Taxpayer.

Brian Colenutt (Admiral Drake B) hit a 106 game-shot, while Bob Crawley (Phoenix Lounge) and Derek Toms (Froddington Arms A) checked-out on 104 and 101 respectively.

Jason Crawley (Phoenix Lounge) fired in a 22-dart leg of 701, while Robbie Blake (Duke of Devonshire) finished 501 in 18 darts.

David Place (British Queen), Mervin Keen (Travellers Joy C), Colin Blunden (Froddington Arms B), and Barry Stevenson (Froddington Arms A) all scored maximums.